somewhere, over the rainbow…

30 day photography challenge

day #27: from a distance

i confess that i took today’s official snapshot three weeks ago today, way back on wednesday june 6th. i was just leaving toronto after aunti wednesday, turning onto the gardiner expressway to head home, when look what i saw:

rainbows are always a remarkable sight

at that moment, my immediate thought was, “take a picture!” [notice the traffic light is red!] “you’ll be able to incorporate the rainbow in some way into the 30 day challenge!”

rainbows deserve two shots

so the rainbow is our at a distance choice for today.

i know i said this before at some point on the blog because i remember gina leaving a comment (not sure why that memory has stuck so prominently in my mind) but whenever i see a rainbow, i think of our childhood bible story book entitled “God keeps his promise:”

(source)

[this is the book – wow!!! i google-found this image as i think the brother has our actual old copy].

it never fails: if i see a rainbow, i get a warm-fuzzy feeling, and am reminded that God loves me and is watching over me.

what’s a sight in nature that fills you with awe? i also find waterfalls spine-tingling for both their visual and aural impact.

(source)

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Zo  On June 28, 2012 at 7:13 pm

    I love waterfalls too…I guess growing up on the coast, I find the ocean to be pretty awesome (and water in general to be calming).
    I actually saw a double rainbow the other week, which was pretty cool!

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 28, 2012 at 7:19 pm

      a double?? that is super cool! i think that is about as lucky as finding a four leaf clover! i so agree that the sound of waves is very calming, centering…you were lucky to grow up so close to water, zo!

  • Gina Unger  On June 27, 2012 at 11:43 pm

    the rainbow is definitely powerful. i have two stories that involve rainbows – one when Jeff and i were lost on a bike trip at Riding Mountain N.P…. the other is that Jeff’s parents saw a rainbow when Jeff and I were stranded on our canoe trip – it reminded us that God is watching over us and keeping us safe. It gave Jeff’s parents a sense of calm in their time of dread.
    I love that book! we have two copies in our house – one from my childhood and the other was in a box of books passed on to us from Jeff’s colleague. I hold such good memories of when my parents read from it to me. 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 28, 2012 at 5:42 am

      gina, thank you for sharing your two rainbow examples. once again, situations where it was NOT simply coincidence to have rainbows appear. i so agree with the calm-inducing feeling that rainbow sightings provide. so glad you have your childhood copy of “God keeps his promise.” mom told me that she has our copy, actually – i should get it from her!

  • Johanna B  On June 27, 2012 at 10:30 am

    I love rainbows. I was a Rainbow Girl (do they have that group in Canada). It was with the Rainbow Girls that I made my 3 week trip to Canada back in 1968. Fond memories for sure! I also love waterfalls. On that same trip we made a stop at Niagara. Nothing beats watching the falls from the Canadian side. Thanks for the reminder.

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 27, 2012 at 11:16 am

      so glad you have such fond memories of canada and of your trip, johanna! and yes, we are very proud of our canadian side of the falls!

  • Stacie @ Snaps and Bits  On June 27, 2012 at 10:19 am

    Beautiful shot Cathy! I feel the same way about rainbows too. Your waterfalls comment reminds me I need to plan a trip to Niagra Falls–never been there and would love to see it!

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 27, 2012 at 11:17 am

      thanks, stacie! i happened to be in the right place at the right time…and for once i was glad for a red light! yes – you must see niagara falls in person. i think your whole family would love it!

  • Anonymous  On June 27, 2012 at 8:28 am

    Rainbows remind me of my Father-in-Law. He passed away during a horrible storm. Immediately after the storm there was the most beautiful rainbow. My kids believe that is how he got to heaven.

  • Scholar Mel  On June 27, 2012 at 8:10 am

    Reblogged this on 1 Million Reblogs.

  • Fran@ Broken Cookies Don't Count  On June 27, 2012 at 7:25 am

    A rainbow does it for me. You should see a rainbow over our mountains in NM. I have a photo somewhere. I’ll find it and share. Thanks, Cathy for the beautiful rainbow start to my day!!

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 27, 2012 at 9:26 am

      i would LOVE to see a rainbow over nm’s mountains…that sounds simply amazing, fran!

Leave a Reply

