another chapter ends

30 day photography challenge

day #28: flowers

no idea what this orange flower is! help?!

there was absolutely no pre-planning to this photo, at all! little e and i were walking home from school on aunti day when we passed the neighbourhood corner store. this particular “mom and pop” shop sells the most beautiful assortment of fresh flowers. little e and i always pause to look them over and pick out our favourites. on this particular day, i just happened to say to e, “let’s get a picture!” and the result is what you see, above – our official photo for today. [i think memories of her recent dance recital were fresh in little e’s mind – don’t you love the dramatic arm placement!]. i never have little e or cutie c “pose” – it’s open camera, aim, shoot, hope for the best! and this snapshot turned out pretty darn cute, no?!

anyway, i realize the flowers (our theme) are more of a border to little e’s smiling face…but this photo fits in perfectly with my thoughts, today.

first, i love how e is missing a tooth right now. the hole-in-the-smile era is a short-lived one, but so significant in terms of marking a milestone in the growing-up years. and all children look so cute at this stage!

second, yesterday (aunti wednesday) was little e’s second last day of school, so my chauffeuring and meeting-the-bus duties are over for this school year. and since little e will be at the same school all day next year, we will never again have the same schedule as we have enjoyed together from september to yesterday. i am really feeling sentimental about this! of course, lots of fun awaits over the summer months and then looking ahead to a new fall routine, but it’s still a change, and i will really miss our routines and 1:1 time from the past nine months.

do you remember how old you were when you lost your front tooth/teeth? i just went through my photo albums trying to find my own toothless-grin examples and came up empty-handed! how can that be?! i am going to guess i was in grade one. mom, can you verify?!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Zo  On June 28, 2012 at 7:16 pm

    I think I was age 6 (also grade 1) for the first tooth lost. I remember being excited about the tooth fairy visiting.
    That’s a beautiful photo! I find with my nephews, they tend to “over pose” for photos (big big smiles/tilted head), so I love the candid shots too…and I really envy you your aunti time…but I know what you mean…their lives are constantly changing so it’s great to be able to have that time together!

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 28, 2012 at 7:21 pm

      that is true, zo – with kids, sometimes they totally overdo the smile and the pose…depends on their mood and personality (and if they have an audience!). we loved tooth fairy visits, too – she left a whole $.025 per tooth in our house!

  • Stacie @ Snaps and Bits  On June 28, 2012 at 2:11 pm

    Great photo! I have no idea when I lost my front teeth but my older son was 4 and my younger 6! There are a ton of hibiscus all over Hawaii!

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 28, 2012 at 2:53 pm

      thanks, stacie! i am thinking i need to visit hawaii!! and i will never forget the name “hibiscus” after today’s blog post! i am loving how all the parents today know EXACTLY when their kids lost their front teeth – definitely a milestone occasion!

  • Johanna B  On June 28, 2012 at 10:36 am

    I have absolutely no idea when I lost my front teeth and now no one to ask. No official school pictures which is surprising. Of course, I never smiled with my mouth open. I had an incredible underbite (later I wore braces for years). My daughter, however, is smiling big in her 2nd grade photo and there is a gap there – 2 teeth missing.

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 28, 2012 at 12:01 pm

      i bet your daughter’s photo is super-cute, johanna! i understand the braces…i had them for years, too!

  • Ele  On June 28, 2012 at 8:17 am

    your flower is a hibiscus. Here in NJ and I’m sure in Canada it is only an outdoor plant in the summer. There are perenial hibiscus but the flowers are the size of dinner plates and the colors and leaves do not have the same vibrant colors. Still loving the blog, Cathy!

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 28, 2012 at 8:46 am

      ele, thank you so much for the flower information. now i can confidently tell little e the flower’s name, next time, instead “oo, look at the…big and pretty flower!” hope you have a great day, ele!

  • Fran@ Broken Cookies Don't Count  On June 28, 2012 at 6:22 am

    I believe the flower is a hybiscus and I think the photo is perfect. I think sometimes a photo shows without words what we feel about the subject. It’s easy to tell in this one how much you care for little e. It’s a shame your scheduled time with her will have to change, but because she and cutie c mean so much to you, you’ll work it out!

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 28, 2012 at 6:34 am

      thanks for your understanding comment, fran. our summer visits will be all over the map thanks to holidays and that is all fine – it’ll be fun to have some special get-togethers in the mix! i can’t believe how fast the school year flew by!

Leave a Reply

