july thus far: a pictorial review

greetings,friends!

i hope you’re enjoying a fabulous summer! how nice that we still have over a month until labour day [i am trying to think positively, here; internally, i am wailing a bit because summer has peaked, imo]. AND!…five months today is christmas day!!

i know that if i start chatting about the month of july, i am going to get on a roll and not shut up…so à la twitter [i DID tweet a couple times this month!] and instagram [about which i have not a clue, i so need someone to show me what exactly instagram IS] we are going to go with lotsa photos and minimal words today. [tomorrow’s post is going to be the opposite: we’ll chat more and look at maybe three pictures].

here are selected july highlights…

monday, july 2nd: movie outing with mom and dad to see “moonrise kingdom” at the princess – ***1/2 stars, i say! (and thanks, zo, for the recommendation). this pic is not the best, dad was in a rush to get our tix!

tues july 3rd: “whoo-hoo” walter came to the store to pump up our clinics for the waterfront 1/2 n full ‘thons; here are liz, walter n me mimicking the race poster!

thurs july 5th: i actually BAKED!!! i don’t know who was more shocked, me or the oven. i made bran muffins, no raisins, i hate raisins, it’s impossible to find a bran muff without raisins. those are choco chips on the top cuz i forgot to mix ’em in!

sun july 8th: shopping with mom – a laughing buddha design is going to be my next tat. (i don’t want this EXACT buddha – this is just to give me an idea!)

that mall outing resulted in the biggest shopping splurge in at least a year! i had some gift cards to use, and there were huge sales. fave items: tie between the feather earrings ($3.99! madonna’s line!) and the “just smile & wave” tshirt (love punny tees!)

tues july 10th: my mail-order, FREE olympic cheerios tee arrived! love the graphic/slogans! would it be folly to wear a 100% cotton shirt in one of january’s disney races? i know the answer. guess i’ll wear it post-race.

tues july 10th, eve: i met sarah (of the pink shoes) at s’bux! we celebrated that she now has a teaching CONTRACT with our local school board. yippee!

as we were sitting outside, along came our friends yang and dan. dont’cha love dan’s shoes? those are the new nike air pegasus+ 29s – only dan can carry off that neon look!

aunti wednesday! (july 11th): a seriously PERFECT day. while little e and cutie c were at their day camp, i sat outside the local indy, hip coffee joint with a rooibos tea, toronto life mag, and literally put my feet up while catching some rays.

thurs july 12th: i tagged along on dad’s weekly market trip!

how’s that for a zucchini?!!

fri july 13th: my free cheerios flipflops arrived! i am set to cheer on our olympians! (i wonder if my free reebok tee is ever going to show up??…) are these flips now my LUCKY footwear since they showed up on friday the 13th??!

also on the 13th: i eagerly inherited this *cast-off* chair from mom and dad – dad has never liked it, so they replaced it. adds a great modern touch to the condo casa main room! and it’s comfy!

july 14th: saturday night at the movies/my worst-lit photo ever – out to see woody allen’s “to rome with love” **1/2 stars. i DID LOL…but “vicki christina barcelona” was better!

sunday july 15th: s’bux with juanita, from whom i am borrowing the *hot* trilogy of the summer!

tuesday july 17th: cathie and i met at david’s tea after our work days were over. even though it was 38 degrees C out (felt like an oven!) we had hot teas! (the air con was on pretty high!).

wed july 18th: 20 minute challenge night at the store! participants received a FREE blue cap for coming out and running or walking for 20 minutes! such a fun time on a hot and sunny evening!

thurs july 19th: william’s coffee with sharon! we planned this meet-up in less than 72 hours…that qualifies as “impromptu,” for us!

friday july 20th: “magic mike” with bff debbie! very entertaining!…and educational, since i have never seen a strip show! ** (two stars)

sunday july 22nd: pizza sunday! almost as good as ice cream sunday. this slice had zucchini, mushrooms and green pepper – yum! it is rare that i desire salty over sweet!

…and later: sunday night at the movies! “what to expect when you’re expecting” -> cute! ** stars [sidenote: bangs are FINALLY long enough to tuck behind my ears, again]

mon july 23rd: i was gifted this fabulous tshirt, straight from denmark! the sequins and 80s vibe are 100% me – and a tshirt is my #1 favourite type of souvenir! you will find out who gave it to me tomorrow…

tues july 24th: a mid-day gabfest with vfbf joanne at vincenzo’s – we had a totally delightful visit – only we coulda used three hours instead of one!

et c’est tout!! july, would you please SLOW DOWN for the remaining days we have left!!?!

~*~*~*~*~

a completely random question of the day: i’d like to take a survey, and i am seeking your input. for this year’s 1970kikiproject, challenge # 11 states, and i quote, “abstain from drinking diet pop (any pop) for eleven months.”

my question for you is this: is the following beverage a pop, yes or no?

zevia: found it at a health food store. it is carbonated, has no artificial sweeteners, and is sweetened with stevia

i have my opinion, and i’d like to hear yours. would it be cheating on the project for me to drink a zevia? [additional note: i DO use stevia in my coffee, every morning].

see you tomorrow!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • The Orchard  On July 25, 2012 at 9:45 pm

    Nice round-up! I am glad that you got your hands on a copy of 50 Shades as my friend still has my book #1! I will be curious to know what you think of it!

    Cheers!
    Tricia

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 25, 2012 at 9:58 pm

      tricia, i am just getting into 50 shades and am so happy to have the trilogy! so far things are pretty tame…but i am only a couple chapters in! i’ll include my thoughts on the books once i get through all three, i think!

  • 42kim  On July 25, 2012 at 11:24 am

    I do not think this is soda in the manner in which you intended soda! Example I drink club soda with cranberry juice, but I don’t consider it a soda because there are no artificial sweeteners or chemicals in it! t may not make any sense, but that is how I rationalize it. You have had a busy month. I want to know how you get all those fabulous shirts!

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 25, 2012 at 11:53 am

      kim, i agree with you 100% on your definition of soda…i think that it is the aspartame that makes it a pop and not the carbonation. btw, how are you doing with cutting back on diet coke?! thinking of you! tshirts – my goodness, the # i have is simply laughable! for the canada one – free offer on cereal boxes, i think they are still in stores!

  • Johanna B  On July 25, 2012 at 11:10 am

    I consider Zevia to be pop since it’s a carbonated beverage. Funny, I wouldn’t consider soda water to be pop because it’s not flavored. BTW all pop/soft drinks are referred to generically as coke in New Orleans. I constantly confuse everyone when I say I’m going to get a coke and come back with Sprite.

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 25, 2012 at 11:55 am

      johanna, you raise a good point: is it the carbonation or the sweetener that makes a beverage a soda pop??…i am hoping it is the fake sugar…because i have been drinking perrier/carbonated water by the boatload since january and do not consider that to be breaking my rule! that is neat that pop is coke in new orleans…i did not know that! love learning little idiosyncracies like this! hope your july is going well!!

  • Stephanie  On July 25, 2012 at 9:28 am

    I think it is pop. Sorry love. Not what you wanted to hear, I know. Good to see you back in blogland! I agree…July has gone by REALLY fast.

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 25, 2012 at 9:48 am

      actually, stephanie, i would classify the zevia as pop, too. i just wanted to hold back my opinion to see your comments, first! so we are all in agreement, so far!… at least we still have august for our “summer”…but july is just better. august is too close to the “end of the summer…”

  • karen at virtually there  On July 25, 2012 at 9:18 am

    Cathy – so happy to read a post from you this morning. I’ve missed my morning routine of reading you first thing! Glad you are having such a great July. We are too. And I’m committing myself to start blogging more again…..

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 25, 2012 at 9:46 am

      oh, thanks, karen! and i am glad you are enjoying your july, as a family, too. i will look forward to more of your blog updates – i’ve missed you, too! btw, will your family be in waterloo any time this summer? if so, i’d love to go for coffee with you!!

  • Zo  On July 25, 2012 at 9:05 am

    Yes, I would say the Zevia is “pop” (or soda) since it’s carbonated and sweetened.
    I feel exactly the same way you do about raisins in things…they make me angry/depressed. A perfectly yummy thing that I now have to pick apart!
    Love that orange and blue tank in your shopping photos.
    It looks like you are having a fun July!

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 25, 2012 at 9:44 am

      i agree, zo, that the zevia would break the rules of my pop/soda ban…so i am not going to have one! yes – you and i are in the same anti-raisin club, i do remember! what a way to ruin a great treat, by adding raisins!! i wish july would SLOW DOWN!!

  • Stacie @ Snaps and Bits  On July 25, 2012 at 8:43 am

    This post was so fun Cath! My favorite line, “I don’t know who was more surprised, me or the oven.” Love it. I’m kind of mad though. I wish I’d have thought of that line first 😉

    I’m afraid I’m going to have to agree with Ameena. That is definitely pop (I say soda). So sorry to burst your little bubble.

    Glad to have you back and have a great day!

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 25, 2012 at 9:43 am

      you are welcome to steal the oven line, stacie…i take it you don’t use yours that often?!! oh, i am in full agreement with you all – a zevia is a pop in my opinion, too! i just wanted to hear what you all would have to say, first! hope you get pool and patio time today!

  • Fran@ Broken Cookies Don't Count  On July 25, 2012 at 6:52 am

    Great post, Cathy! You are truly the Queen of Tee-Shirts..not just the queen of sneakers and compression socks!! Great photos! You’ve seen a Lot of movies! Have a great day!

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 25, 2012 at 9:41 am

      thanks, fran! and guess what, i am planning to go to another movie tonight…to which i will most likely wear a tshirt, comp socks and running shoes! enjoy your day!

  • Ameena  On July 25, 2012 at 6:47 am

    I would say that yes, this is “pop.” Love that you call it that by the way – so funny. I am not a fan of Zevia or stevia…can’t do it for some reason. The aftertaste I guess?

    July is flying by! Your photos are great.

    Have a great Wednesday!

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 25, 2012 at 9:40 am

      ameena, i am with you, i think it’s pop/soda, too! (btw, soda is a very funny term to me! i think either baking soda or ice cream float-type soda/drink when i hear the term!). i have not noticed an aftertaste with stevia…maybe because i was used to aspartame when i was drinking diet coke?!

Leave a Reply

