the main july project – revealed!

as you saw in yesterday’s photos, i have been having a real blast so far, this month. have i ever happened to mention that i ♥ summer?!

😀

from july 1-22, i had one main focus that received more attention than coffee outings, movies, and shopping. while manager paul and annette enjoyed three weeks of sights such as this…

(source)

and this…

(source)

…i got to be the acting manager at the store!

see, this is (partly/mostly) why i did not want to feel any *pressure* to blog this month: i wanted to able to focus on my responsibilities and embrace this career opportunity. [ok, i also wanted to just run around (literally and figuratively) and be social and read smutty novels on the rooftop, that is true].

so how did the job go?

quite simply, i loved it.

some days were frantically busy: for example, one shift, i had to ship out all of our nike track and field spikes -> it ended up being ten boxes worth of product…and then that same day i received IN to the store nine boxes of three NEW shoe styles; that day flew by, i can tell you that. i completed tasks associated with merchandising (new swimwear and compression sock displays!), clinics (evaluations reminded me of doing report cards in my teaching days)…and, of course, customer interactions and transactions!

i did not miss blogging because i got to write creatively as part of my managerial duties: each tuesday, we send out an email to our run club members, so i wrote that newsy update each week. i also sent out a staff email every thursday. it was fun to have a focus for these emails, yet have the freedom to write in my own style (i think my blog voice might have carried over to these weekly updates!).

another highlight was co-ordinating the 20 minute challenge event for our store on july 18th:

some of the participants – photo courtesy of my friend (and blog reader) sue!

we had more participants than anticipated, the weather was divine (sunny and warm) and everyone seemed to have a good time (free hats and snacks always make people happy!).

paul returned to work on monday of this week, so now i am back to being the assistant manager – and back to working my regular monday and friday shifts at theOTHERstore. i so enjoyed the manager opportunity!

ok, this blog post just took me eons to write -> i have severely lost my blogging voice and touch. whew! i need more blogcation time. i shall see you again on thursday, august 9th for the next kikiproject update!

please share a july highlight! although i must say that thanks to visiting with my real-life friends, and blog-commenting with my blog-friends, i do feel in touch with a lot of you!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Ameena  On July 28, 2012 at 7:12 am

    Congratulations on the lucky break! And of course real life is way more important than blogging so definitely take a break and come back when you are ready!!

    Have a great weekend my friend.

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 28, 2012 at 8:55 am

      thanks, ameena!! i really am in to enjoying the summer by being out and about as much as possible…and now we have the olympics to follow – that could end up being a major time suck for me – you are so lucky to have experienced london this summer!

  • stephanie  On July 26, 2012 at 1:37 pm

    Good for you! Who knows…maybe this stint as acting manager means that you’ll be on management track. I bet you’re awesome to work for…I would love to have you as my boss. I love your blog voice…every time I read one of your posts, I feel like I’m sitting with you in a coffee shop (which is SO going to happen someday). Enjoy your smut! Errr…I mean, blogcation!

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 26, 2012 at 1:43 pm

      ok, here’s my challenge: can i finish all three 50 shades books by august 9th?? although i am sidetracked with “explosive eighteen” by janet evanovich, which i found at the libary yesterday…i feel more comfortable reading it in public! thanks for your kind compliments, and you bet we will coffee shop some day!!!

  • Zo  On July 26, 2012 at 10:03 am

    It sounds like you’ve had an awesome time…and I like that you got a “trial time” to see how assistant managing worked for you. It sounds like you really enjoyed your time!
    My July highlight has been time with my family. My brother was in visiting so I got to spend some time with him…and right now I am taking some time off to spend time with my strivingcynic family! We’ve gone to a baseball game (Mets v. Dodgers) and just spent a day in NYC seeing movies we can’t see where we live in the suburbs (Safety Not Guaranteed and Queen of Versailles).

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 26, 2012 at 10:07 am

      zo, you will not believe this, i JUST SAW “safety not guaranteed” last eve!!! what did you think? i loved it. i did not know what to expect going in. i thought it was quirky, had interesting characters and a storyline that really held my interest and kept me guessing as to what would happen next. i did think the ending was a bit abrupt. i give it *** stars!! so glad you have had family time with both families! a ball game – that is perfect for a summer activity!!

      • Zo  On July 26, 2012 at 10:26 am

        That is too funny! I would give it 3-3.5 stars and agree with you about the ending. There was definitely a lot of “where can this go?” running through my mind as the movie was progressing. One thing we all commented on was how the main characters (well, Darius and the journalist) were very much like the characters those actors play on the tv shows those actors are in (“Parks and Rec” and “New Girl”)

      • 1970kikiproject  On July 26, 2012 at 10:28 am

        ok – i do not watch either of those shows so did not recognize them at all… i thought they were both great. i love quirky details – like kenneth’s ear! 😀

  • Stacie @ Snaps and Bits  On July 26, 2012 at 8:45 am

    Congratulations, that’s such awesome news–Just a stepping stone to manager! Glad you still got to do some writing and it was fun that you managed to visit our blogs despite the heavier work load. Glad to have you back though!

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 26, 2012 at 9:10 am

      thanks, stacie!! i just love retail, so glad i figured that out!! i LOVE my early morning blog reading and visiting time – sets me up in a good mood for the day! 🙂

  • Fran@ Broken Cookies Don't Count  On July 26, 2012 at 6:20 am

    Don’t ever want to lose touch, Cathy! I’m sure you did a great job as acting manager! Any chance there’s a “real” promotion in your future? I don’t think you’ll lose your “blogging” voice. I think it’s the real You! Have a great day!

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 26, 2012 at 6:28 am

      thanks, fran! and yes…i agree my blogging voice is pretty representative of *me* – it just took me so long to type this entry! my mind was working faster than my fingers!! i firmly believe that things work out as they’re meant to be, so we shall see what the future holds!

Leave a Reply

