theme week: WIAW

of all of the themes that i’m participating in this week, what i ate wednesday baffles me the most.

1. for the uninitiated, there is a genre of blogging called “healthy living blogs.” some of these professional bloggers (example, example, example) make their living by photographing, writing about and posting ( up to three times daily!) what they eat (an how they work out) every day. kudos to these ladies for their devotion, i could not sustain that pace! i also cannot believe the popularity of these blogs – it’s a huge industry! i take it that we are to gather inspiration and ideas from these website food logs –  and that is also the purpose of WIAW.

2. to my mind, what i ate wednesday translates to what i ate ON wednesday. so i would take pictures on wednesday then post WIAW on thursday…ok, that’s confusing, i am obviously over-thinking things!

3. i would not want to open myself up to the criticism and scrutiny of posting every bite that goes into my mouth. snarkers are gonna snark, and it would not be fun to constantly receive comments that you eat too healthy, eat too many carbs, eat too much, eat too little, spend too much on food, get too many freebies…not my cup of tea. maybe i would think differently if i actually could make a living off of blogging?!

ok, so let’s move on to my version of WIAW

(source)

or!…

(source)

[i do not read jenn’s blog, peas and crayons, (jenn is the founder and host of WIAW) but i think i am supposed to link to her if i use the WIAW button??!]

1. haha, again – things work out as they’re meant to be, because i have a great foodie photo from last week wednesday! remember when dad and g’ma and i went to swiss chalet for lunch?!

here is my quarter chicken dinner, dark meat, with fries and a roll, dipping sauce, and perrier water

all right! i am thumping my chest in glee that i have at least one interesting pic for you!

2. here is a new-to-me product that i tried this week:

i pan-fried the tempeh then added it to my salad!

ok, i am seriously laughing so hard because i am trying to picture the look on dad and the brother’s faces if i ever presented them with this *bacon* – even i can say that this is NOT anywhere CLOSE to “real” bacon!!! this product is tempeh pre-cut into bacon-ish slices, that is all.

this tempeh bacon was ok – i do love tempeh, but in future, i will go back to just buying regular tempeh. the smoky maple flavoured marinade was not bad, but i do prefer plain tempeh.

3. here are four photos of items that are regular staples:

i like an appetizer of fresh veggies dipped in that blue cheese salad dressing

those cherry tomatoes were a gift from my neighbour who has a garden plot and has been blessed with a proliferance of baby toms this summer. they’re delicious! and the taste exactly like the little tomatoes my grandpa c grew in his garden when i was little. nature’s candy!

yogurt, frozen, with choco chips on top

i’ve shared this *exciting recipe* with you before: you plop your favourite regular yogurt in a freezer-friendly container, add on some choco chips, and freeze. defrost, then enjoy!

a nutrient-balanced snack!

this concoction is a brainwave i am proud of: take a scoop of pro powder, add just enough water to make an icing-like consistency, then spread your mixture onto apple quarters. this is one of my favourite quick ‘n’ easy snack options.

i MUST have cereal before bed! this was a great bowl – there are at least six types of cereal in this mix! and i always use that pottery bowl!

i do have a dilemma for which i need to find a solution: i NEED cereal before bed! how am i going to transport several nights’ worth of cereal to florida for disney?? cereal is a totally necessary part of my carb-loading routine! again, i am chuckling because i can just see me checking a whole suitcase of cereal and almond milk on my flight down south…i need to think on this some more. either i seriously DO just pack a sh!tload of cereal or i have five months to find a new evening carb that fuels me up…good thing i have some time!

ok – your turn! what’s one thing you ate yesterday and/or a new product you have tried and/or would you ever want to be a food blogger?? today mom and i are off on a shopping adventure and we will be partaking in food court offerings!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Zo  On August 22, 2012 at 6:47 pm

    Hmmm…you could mail yourself some cereal, I suppose. Could you get out to a store for some when you’re out for the race?
    Yesterday I tried some Skinnygirl Pina Colada. I thought it was pretty good. I haven’t liked all the skinny products as much as the margarita, but felt that I would get another pc bottle after this.
    I definitely would not want to be a food blogger….for many of the reasons you mentioned (but sure, if you want to pay me to talk about what I’m going to eat anyway, that would work!).

    • 1970kikiproject  On August 22, 2012 at 7:35 pm

      haha, thanks for the mailing-of-the-cereal suggestion, zo! i’d love to cereal shop while in florida – you guys have varieties unavailable in canada! that is fun that you tried the pina colada mix! summertime is perfect for that kind of beverage!

  • Lisa  On August 22, 2012 at 10:38 am

    This cracked me up—I love your honesty. I definitely don’t post my daily eats—for one, people would probably copy me based on my profession (and I think that would be irresponsible on my part—since we all need different things), and also I do not eat “normally” so I know that people would criticize me (which is ok, but I just don’t feel the need to provoke that!).

    Lately my food has been extra weird because I packed up all my kitchen stuff and have been in the process of moving for about 3 weeks. Now that I’m in Cali (in starbucks currently….which, btw, is strangely cheaper here than in Rochester), I have to figure out the food thing. I ate out twice yesterday, and I know that won’t be happening—the food is amazing, but so expensive. Heading to the farmer’s market soon, so I hope I find some good stuff!

    • 1970kikiproject  On August 22, 2012 at 4:55 pm

      glad you enjoyed the post, lisa, and thanks for sharing your thoughts. hope you had good luck at the farmer’s market…and that is weird that the s’bux was less expensive. in my mind, everything in cali is MORE expensive! enjoy the rest of your day!!

  • Stacie @ Snaps and Bits  On August 22, 2012 at 8:03 am

    I always thought it was a bit weird re the “on” wednesday too but maybe I’m just an over-thinker! I ate spicy peanut slaw yesterday and kale chips! I couldn’t be a food blogger. I use my blog a little bit to track recipes I like but generally my meals are too boring!

    • 1970kikiproject  On August 22, 2012 at 8:34 am

      kale chips!! those are tasty (i splurged and bought some at a health food store once!). ok, glad to know i am not the only one who is perplexed by the “on” wednesday idea!

Leave a Reply

