theme week: three things thursday

three things thursday is a well-used vehicle by which a blogger can randomly chat about a trio of totally unrelated ideas. i can do that! (in fact, thirty thing thursday would probably be ok!).

1. remember back in may when dad transformed the master bath into the chocolate bathroom?

my at-home spa!

well, i finally got around to purchasing new towels. i got them in maybe july (?) then they sat around for a while before i started to use them. i went for white:

nope, i did not stage a “home and garden” pic!

what sold me on the white idea was that floor mat – it’s textured and i love the soft feel under foot. for the towels, i went with the “gluckstein home” line, available at the bay. i’m super happy with this choice! for the first time ever, the initial wash and dry did not produce tons of lint. the towels are soft and plush and feel luxurious. brian gluckstein, you can be proud of your product!

the white towels remind me of staying in a hotel – i like that! initially, i was worried about how hard it would be to keep the white white…so far, no issues.

the next step: my heart is set on getting a compact coat rack upon which i can hang the towels – i am feeling anti-towel rack or wall hooks… but until i can find what i want (ikea??), this is my towel-hanging system:

stairmaster-as-towel-drying mechanism…how stereotypical, having exercise equipment draped in laundry!

all in all, i’m very happy with the bathroom transformation!

2. i totally thought that i had found a newΒ β™₯ sweet baboo β™₯ to add to my collection which is currently comprised of:

georgie:

(source)

tommy:

(source)

chef michael smith:

(source)

during the olympics, i caught some of the canadian women’s soccer matches. oooo, that canadian coach, john herdman, is a real cutie!!

(source)

then i googled him and found out he was born in 1975. that means he is five years younger than me. boo. that is just too much of an age gap for me to handle. so our love affair is over before it even started. the end.

3. a few weeks ago, zo mentioned in a blog post that she had figured out how to get a twitter tweet onto her blog. zo kindly passed along the step-by-step how-to instructions, and by george, i could do the same thing! example:

as you know, my blog is pretty boring simple in terms of layout, design, photos…and i’m fine with that – now. once upon a time, i did dream of making the kikiblog all fancy, inserting photoshopped and edited pictures, tables, charts etc…i even almost bought a DSLR camera in order to improve my photos! then i realized (and accepted) that it’s the writing and sharing that i enjoy, and a plain jane blog is all i need.

all that being said, it was fun to learn a new twitter/blog trick! now all i have to do is actually compose tweets that are pithy, relevant, and worthy of including on the blog!

got three things to share today? 1) it’s the busker festival in uptown waterloo this weekend 2) i thought my little point n shoot camera was dead again a few days ago but after it got a good night’s rest, it worked fine again the next morning, i so don’t understand what is up with that thing 3) i want to go buy tons of new school supplies even though i am not going back to school. i just may load up on pens, notebooks, stickies and markers anyway.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • strivingcynic  On August 24, 2012 at 8:22 pm

    Ooh, good to see you using your tweets on you blog. I actually had to look up how to do that again the other day for mine.
    We don’t have a towel rack either…I’d like something though.. For now we just hang towels over the shower.

    • 1970kikiproject  On August 24, 2012 at 8:33 pm

      ah, i am glad i am not alone in not having a towel rack of some type! that twitter insert thing just made my day when it worked!

  • Lisa  On August 23, 2012 at 10:13 am

    Ok, I love white towels. I bought some at Target about 5 years ago, and although they are not plush and fancy, they are still bright white to this day…and I’m anticipating they stay that way in storage πŸ™‚ So there’s hope for yours too, I would assume! lol

    Three things thursday….I’m going to a seminar at the SM library tonight about culture and cuisine (regarding what people eat and what that says about them)….so up my alley, right?!

    I’m considering taking out my stitches a day early….the 10-day thing seems kind of arbitrary. I’m not patient, and I’m over them holding me back πŸ™‚

    I haven’t actually been on the beach since I got to SM…I’m not sure why—I could throw a rock to it. It’s got to happen soon!

    Have a fab Thursday, my friend!

    • 1970kikiproject  On August 23, 2012 at 11:17 am

      lisa, that seminar sounds really interesting! good luck with the stitches and i hope you can fit in some beach time sooner rather than later! that is good news re the white towels staying white – i am hoping for years of use from mine!

  • Stacie @ Snaps and Bits  On August 23, 2012 at 10:12 am

    Those were about as randomly diverse as three topics could ever be! Nice job going with the spirt! I’ve never done three things Thursday but sounds fun for when I have no idea what to write about πŸ˜‰

    • 1970kikiproject  On August 23, 2012 at 11:18 am

      thanks, stacie! and i’d love to read your version of three things thursday!

Leave a Reply

