theme week: friday fotos

there is a plethora of variations on the friday alliteration idea: five for friday, fun facts friday, fit bit friday, friday features, friday fings, f’d up friday [ok, i made that one up, but it’d be workable, no?!]…i’ve decided to go with friday fotos [cutesy spelling and all] because i want to share the shopping trip that mom and i enjoyed on wednesday!

way back in the spring, mom and i decided to set aside a day in august when we could zoom down the 401 to mississauga and spend a day shopping at square one:

yes, conestoga and fairview park are great local malls, but we wanted a different experience!

GREAT summery weather…to spend the day shopping indoors! we had smooth sailing on the drive in from waterloo.

first stop of the day: coffee and a chance to make our plan of attack:

s’bux treats and a&w coffee…food courts are perfect for mixing and matching!

top of my list: lululemon!! we decided to skip stores available in k-w, too.

where is lulu??!

let’s shop!

mom has the patience of a saint: we were in lululemon for almost an hour, and i tried on item after item…with great success!! i am now well lulu’d…for the next while!

photo at home of the goods

[sidenote: i was all set to have mom snap a pic of me clutching 27 hangers of clothing when a sales associate gently admonished that no photo taking is allowed…pourquoi pas?? i am not about to sew up lulu knock-offs!].

then we discovered a new-to-us store:

boom, there goes another hour…and we emerged empty handed!

favourite print of the day (as seen on a dress in zara)

would you believe that after visiting only two stores, it was lunch time:

we each got a pizza and salad combo from mrs vanelli’s pizza – very tasty! and worthy of WIAW!

next up: melanie lyne which was mom’s #1 pick for the day:

i was seriously tempted by these feather earrings…now i wish i had picked them up!

mom had some luck! yippee, now we both had memento purchases from our day.

cognizant of the time of day and impending rush hour traffic, we shortly thereafter left square one to go across the street to…

please set up a location in waterloo, whole foods (and bring lululemon with you, while you’re at it)…

mom’s first visit to a wf, ever!

i compared this mississauga whole foods to the one i visited in sarasota florida, july 2010, and regaled mom with a few of my memories! this mississauga location is huge, bright, very clean, has TONS of product…but the sarasota wf definitely had better salad and hot buffet bars.

i perused the cereals, no surprise, there, but refrained from making a purchase!

we will never, ever learn: once again, we neglected to pick up a basket, so after twenty minutes of wandering the aisles, mom looked like this…

dad gets a treat of kettle chips in his favourite flavour!

…and we were giggling pretty hard! we also had to laugh because for all those hours spent at square one, we covered very little ground…ah well, quality over quantity was the theme of this day.

oh – i got some mint-scented shampoo, too:

this is the large size bottle – i should mark down the date and see how long it lasts!

love that scent!

our return trip to waterloo was also a breeze. it was so fun to travel to an out-of-town mall and spend the day with mom.

what’s your favourite mall? international plaza in tampa was amazing! wish i could have shown it to mom during my vacation. yorkdale mall (in toronto) has a great rep, we just didn’t want to face more time on the 401 to get there.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • strivingcynic  On August 24, 2012 at 8:17 pm

    I love that Zara print. What a fun day!
    My closest big mall got run down but is now bringing in some really cool stores (sephora, travana). I usually end up feeling a bit drained in malls. When my mom comes out we do love to go to a large outlet mall in Jackson, nj

    • 1970kikiproject  On August 24, 2012 at 8:32 pm

      zo, we understand about feeling drained…mom and i try to leave before we “hit the wall,” but sometimes we try to do too much! that’s so fun that you and your mom enjoy shopping time together, too! i will google travana…that is new to me!

  • Johanna B  On August 24, 2012 at 2:25 pm

    My favorite mall is in Dallas. It was multi-level circular and Texas sized. Of course, that was 26 years ago. Right now I’d settle for a quick trip to the coffee shop although I hate drinking decaf and if I had regular about now (1:24 PM) I’d be up half the night. Wish you’d gotten those feather earrings. They were def cute.

    • 1970kikiproject  On August 24, 2012 at 2:29 pm

      haha, i’d LOVE to see a texas-sized mall – yahoo! i hear you on the coffee – i can’t do caffeined-coffee past 11 a.m. or i cannot sleep – crazy! you know – i MAY be able to get the earrings! the same store is at conestoga mall in waterloo, and i should go over and see if the earrings are there…plus there is a tunic top that i think mom SHOULD have bought – we can see if it is there, too! maybe you can get to a coffee shop this weekend, johanna?!

  • Lisa  On August 24, 2012 at 11:53 am

    Ah, what a perfect outing with Mom! My mom is super patient too—going shopping with her is the best because it’s all about me! lol.
    I’m in a mecca of fancy shopping right now (the 3rd st promenade in santa monica has….everything!). Then there’s Santa Monica Place. Truthfully, I am trying not to shop right now, but I am SO tempted to go in Lulu, and I did walk through Hardtail. I swear I need a new white workout top….
    Hope you’re still enjoying summer weather over there!

    • 1970kikiproject  On August 24, 2012 at 12:17 pm

      lisa, i would so love to walk about and window shop in santa monica – enjoy!!! i agree – you NEED a white workout top! now i wish we could get athleta here…i know you are a fan! enjoy your first weekend in cali!

  • Fran@BCDC  On August 24, 2012 at 9:44 am

    Yipes, I haven’t been able to comment in so long, I realized I put my web address for my e-mail. I’ll do better this time. 😉

  • Fran@BCDC  On August 24, 2012 at 9:42 am

    Cathy! I love when you do a “you and Mom” day! It looks like great fun! I am so sorry I haven’t been commenting. I’ve had a terrible time with my computer. I’ve had a hard time getting on other blogs, and most days it kicks me out when I try to comment! It seems to like me today, so here I am. I love that you’ve done theme week this week, what a great idea! You always come up with the most clever plans! I’m with you on wishing there was a Whole Foods near by. There of course is NOT one around here in NM. When I get back to NJ, I’m going to make a pilgrimage to the closest one which is 45 min-hour away. It will be worth it, I think! Hope all is well with you. We’re heading back to NJ this weekend, so I’ll be back to my regular computer and regular routine and should be able to get on and read and comment. Have a WONDERFUL weekend!!

  • Stacie @ Snaps and Bits  On August 24, 2012 at 8:19 am

    What a fun day Cath. You look like your Mom! I am so lucky to have both WF and Lulu within 15 minutes (although in opposite directions). I still haven’t been to Lulu–I’m scared I’ll buy the whole store if I set foot in there! We have an awesome Mall in Short Hills–it’s kind of famous all over NJ for being the nicest. Have a great Friday and weekend !

    • 1970kikiproject  On August 24, 2012 at 11:07 am

      happy weekend, stacie! lulu is a very dangerous place to shop, you are correct! i’d love to check out your mall in short hills!! you know how some people want to be food critics? i think i want to be a mall critic! 🙂

Leave a Reply

