waiting for the (third) shoe to drop

hey, what do you think the timeframe is for the whole “things happen in threes” concept? i am hoping you are going to say “three days” because then i can breathe a sigh of relief and relax.

since this past weekend, i have been walking around gingerly, warily casting an eye back and forth, on the lookout for a potential bad news situation. here’s why…

saturday, 6 p.m.: i went up to food basics to get my weekly supply of (cheap) grocery necessities. note to self: in future, avoid food basics as 6 p.m. on a saturday, the place is a complete zoo. anyway, as is my tendency (right, mom?!) i grabbed a hand basket, and not a cart, somehow believing that i could fit eighteen items in a space the size of two shoe boxes. so, basket overflowing, and juggling four carbonated waters in my arms, i made my way to the checkouts. as best as i could tell, the shortest line had six carts in it. i took my place, my elbow already aching from the cumbersome and h-e-a-v-y grocery load. as i tried to rearrange the carb water in my arms, one slipped away from me and crashed to the floor. you got it: boom! bottle explosion! suddenly, a nice river of water was flowing back from the magazine and candy bar displays.

now, luckily, the fizzy water was the cheap no-name variety, so it was in a plastic bottle, not glass. but i was so embarrassed! all i can say is thank goodness for the kindness of strangers. another customer FYI’d the checkout girl, and she called for “cleanup at checkout three,” and two very pleasant and easygoing young stock boys arrived with paper towels to handle the puddle. [sidenote: full credit goes to the staff at the food basics at fischer-hallman and university (and fairway rd, also) -> the checkout girls are unfailingly friendly and efficient, no matter when you are there. what excellent customer service for a “no frills” establishment!].

so that was mishap #1.

sunday, 9:00 p.m.: i finished up my relaxing evening shower, and wrapped my freshly-washed hair in a (fluffy, hotel-white, brian gluckstein) towel. the end of the towel slipped haphazardly over my eyes, so i was momentarily blinded as i opened the shower stall door. kind of in la-la land already, i was jarred from my zen-ish state when i slammed my right knee cap into the edge of the shower stall. yeeeooowww!!! i gasped right out loud and was sosoclose to breaking into tears. man alive, did that ever HURT! in that type of situation, it’s hard to tell if it’s the physical pain or the surprise factor that is worse. thankfully, the only harm done was a righteous bruising of the kneecap – bad enough, though, that i felt it all day monday.

two days, two unfortunate incidents…my fingers are crossed that my bad luck is behind me as we are now at thursday, and the last three days have been uneventful! (you can bet i was very careful driving to and fro TO yesterday…and since my latest knitting project involves cream-coloured yarn, coffee drinking + knitting has been approached with extreme caution!).

~*~*~*~*~

i really enjoyed your comments yesterday about fall: yea or nay – thanks for sharing! since you all are such fans…”if you can’t beat ’em, join ’em” is my autumn motto, and i will focus on all the good points you listed about this almost-upon-us season!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Fran@ Broken Cookies Don't Count  On September 21, 2012 at 1:25 pm

    You poor thing! I hate when I drop something, even at home…worse when you’re in public!!! Hope your knee is feeling better. It is OUR good luck that we get to read your blog…that cancels out any more bad luck! So There!

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 21, 2012 at 1:28 pm

      fran, way to make me feel relieved that my bad luck is OVER! your comment makes my day! i once dropped a GLASS BOTTLE of carb water in the kitchen, at home…now that was a dangerous mess!

  • strivingcynic  On September 20, 2012 at 8:19 pm

    Well, I hope nothing’s dropped! I’ve smashed elbows into things the last few weeks..and yes, the pain/ surprise combo can’t be beat!

  • Johanna B  On September 20, 2012 at 11:47 am

    Bad things do tend to come in threes. I’ve “known” this for a very long time. I never thought about there being a time limit though. 3 things/3 days. Hmm… Hope your luck continues on the good side.

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 20, 2012 at 11:52 am

      thank you, johanna! i am with you: 3 things, 3 days…i am now trying to think back to monday to see if there is any little klutzy thing that i can count!…

  • Stacie @ Snaps and Bits  On September 20, 2012 at 10:02 am

    Bad things only happen in twos, so you’re good! I do that too, where I get the hand basket and then end up with too many things. I’m trying to not do that anymore and just take the cart – really no downside…Hope your knee feels better soon!

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 20, 2012 at 10:08 am

      stacie, you are so right, i should just GRAB A CART from now on, regardless of my list – because we always end with extra items, right?! the knee is fine, thank goodness! arnica cream and ice work wonders!

  • Lisa  On September 20, 2012 at 8:37 am

    Oh geez….well, I bet there will be no third shoe because you talked about it so you ruined the curse!
    Now you’ve turned it into “a watched pot never boils” so I think you’re totally off the hook!

    • 1970kikiproject  On September 20, 2012 at 9:02 am

      haha! i like your philosophy, lisa! and excellent incorporation of yet another cliche!

Leave a Reply

