giving thanks

~~thank you for all of the blog and fb comments, emails, and in-person hugs over the past week…my family and i feel very supported and loved.~~

~*~*~*~*~

happy thanksgiving weekend, friends!

in honour of thanksgiving, here is my list of 42 things for which i am thankful. [42 because i am 42 years old] i had a lot of fun composing this list, it’s a compilation of the first 42 thoughts to spring to mind, some serious, some not so much. here we go!…

1. every single member of my family

2. that i have a job that i love and adore and look forward to each day

3. that little e still reaches for my hand when we walk home from the school bus

4. tim horton’s choco chip muffins

5. high speed internet – i have absolutely no comprehension of how this technology actually works – i find the whole concept of websites, google etc simply amazing!

6. that feeling i get when running: i feel free, powerful, in the moment, in a zone, happy, clear-headed, centred…it’s awesome

7. that my list of people who irk me is much, much smaller than my list of people  i like

8. my walkable neighbourhood

9. cutie c‘s random and enthusiastic hugs and snuggles

10. this song because it makes me happy!

11. the creative and imaginative outlet that knitting offers; the way you can produce works of art with knitting

12. that i found the will to break my diet coke addiction [i know i complain a lot in my kikiproject updates, but i truly am proud and grateful that i could stop drinking pop]

13. reading, esp novels that you can’t wait to get back to!

14. quirky stories from my life (for example: the time i stalked an semi-famous ultrarunner in moab, utah; the time i got lost in the atlanta airport) that sure are memorable

15. s’bux choco chip cookies

16. that i ran the boston marathon three times and had three awesome races there

17. my rooftop garden and patio area

18. the stories and experiences i hear from customers at the store – every one is unique

19. that any seinfeld episode can make me LOL

20. my green eyes

21. cereal!!! [except any types that contain raisins]

22. having a competitive personality – i like being a go-getter

23. that i can still get away with plucking out any grey hairs on my head, no dye job is yet necessary

24. my circle of friends

25. the mega-bass option on any stereo system

26. that i left teaching after three years and did not spend my life at a career that was not for me

27. doing a crossword puzzle and being able to fill in all the answers [ok, i only do easy x-words, but that’s beside the point]

28. that as we get older mature, we know what we like and what we don’t: i no longer concern myself about the fact that i dislike cooking or am not an animal person, for example

29. any and all vacations i have ever taken: childhood trips out east, out west, to florida; adulthood holidays in aruba, florida, the U.S…all provided awesome memories

30. my running shoe/flipflops/footwear collection

31. baskin robbins choco chip ice cream

32. that i am 5’5″ tall – not too tall, not too short

33. my abba box set

34. that i like watching a lot of different sports, live or on tv

35. this song because it centred me this summer

36. blogging! i really enjoy coming up with ideas, writing, editing, the interactions through comments…it’s a fun hobby

37. that you can sit at chapters and read magazines for free

38. the way my cardinal tattoo turned out [i love my boston one, too, but the cardinal is the ultimate special one]

39. the movie “when harry met sally,” one of my all-time favourites

40. that i got to say good-bye to grandma [and was with grandpa c when he passed away eleven years ago].

41. that little e and cutie c are only one hour away, down the 401

42. that each morning we can wake up and welcome a new day, new opportunities, new experiences

quick: what are any three things for which you are thankful, today? sure, i can join you and do three more!

that my drive to TO on wednesday was hassle-free and uneventful (dare i say “quick,” even?!); the deliciousness that is maranatha crunchy almond butter; that TOMORROW we are doing our annual family christmas list exchange!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Fran@ Broken Cookies Don't Count  On October 7, 2012 at 7:30 am

    Happy Thanksgiving! There was quite a bit of mention of choco chip cookies in this post!! 😉 Great list, Cathy! Love the photo of G’ma and the blocks. My list? 1.Ralph 2.My family 3. My overall good health! I’m going to “borrow” your list for Thanksgiving. Of course, I can’t use my age for the number of things for which I’m thankful…it will be the longest post EVER!!!

    • 1970kikiproject  On October 7, 2012 at 7:39 am

      thanks, fran!! i will look forward to seeing your list at your thanksgiving…maybe you can do a round number like 50? or 100?! choco chips really are wonderful…i choose them over plain chocolate any day!

  • Zo  On October 6, 2012 at 8:17 pm

    Well, I love your 13 and 21 (for the love of heaven…why would anyone put raisins in cereal and think it was an *improvement*)
    1. I’m thankful for my family and still amazed at the wonderful people I have around me
    2. I’m thankful for my kitty who brings me so much joy. I got a scary reminder of this yesterday when he had a fever as a result of a vaccine he’d gotten during his checkup the day before. He was not himself (barely moving, crying when I touched him). I knew there was a problem and called the vet. They kept for the day and brought his fever down and he’s now back to his kitty ways. So, I’m thankful for the vets too (except that if he hadn’t gotten the vaccine… but he needs it…)
    3. I am thankful for coffee…especially flavored coffee that gets me going in the morning. And I’m thankful for the noncaffeinated variety that relaxes me as part of my “nighttime ritual.”
    Another great post, Cathy. Happy Thanksgiving!

    • 1970kikiproject  On October 6, 2012 at 9:08 pm

      zo, i so enjoyed reading your comment!…and i am very glad and relieved that sc kittie is on the mend. poor little guy! my *worst cereal of the world* would go to raisin bran, i am pretty sure! thanks for sharing!!

  • The Orchard  On October 6, 2012 at 11:53 am

    Fantastic list! I enjoyed reading it!

    My kids & husband.
    My family.
    My friends.

    Easy peasy!

    • 1970kikiproject  On October 6, 2012 at 11:59 am

      thanks, tricia! too easy, eh?!!!…next time i will aim for a more challenging thankfulness question!! so glad you enjoy having all these special people in your life!

  • Juanita  On October 6, 2012 at 10:56 am

    My three things…. I have 2 beautiful and healthy children, computers have allowed me to reconnect with “old” friends, and after almost 25 years together as a couple my husband and I can still rediscover each other.

    Happy Thanksgiving to the whole Derksen Clan!!

    • 1970kikiproject  On October 6, 2012 at 11:06 am

      ooo, thanks for “playing along,” juanita, and adding your three items – i like your answers. and YES!!! on the joy of reconnecting with friends thanks to computers/fb!! can you believe we have known each other almost 35 years??!!

  • Stacie @ Snaps and Bits  On October 6, 2012 at 8:29 am

    Happy Thanksgiving! I love your list, so many awesome things 🙂

    If only 3 things, then it’s always about family and friends and my dog, that’s always happy to see me!

    • 1970kikiproject  On October 6, 2012 at 9:07 am

      thanks, stacie! and i bet your family, friends, and dog are always happy to see YOU, too!! i know you’ve been enjoying your morning walks with doggie -> good bonding time!!

Leave a Reply

