no nanowrimo for me

what a rainy sunday afternoon!

i am just back from coffee culture where i spent a cosy bit of time with a hot tea and “u is for undertow” (not nearly as good, 100 pages in, as “t is for trespass,” might i add).

since november begins this week, i want to revisit a fun, international project in which you may wish to participate (other than movember, which is not so good for us ladies, haha!)

check this out:

(source)

national novel writing month begins this thursday on november 1st. in a nutshell, the goal is to write a 50 000 word novel (about 175 pages) by the time the clock strikes 11:59:59 on november 30th.

i think this is such an intriguing idea! i had never heard of nanowrimo until a year ago when blog friend stephanie participated (and i wrote this blog post about nanowrimo last year). recently, fran was debating whether or not to join in again (she did last year)…fran, have you decided?!

i will not be writing the great kiki novel of all time in november, 2012. why? just like i said last year, basically, i have no story ideas! i’m NOT going to say, “i have no time,” because i believe that if anything is important enough to you, you make the time for it. if push came to shove, i guess i could take the easy route and write an autobiography of sorts, thinly disguised as a novel?

i also don’t think you need to have fabulous writing ability to throw your hat in the ring for nanowrimo. heck, if pamela anderson can get a novel published [kind of like if oprah can run a marathon…]…any of us could give nanowrimo a shot!

~*~*~*~*~

earlier this afternoon, i wasted a whole hour trying to compose a blog post. i am feeling out of blogging practice and deleted a few rough drafts – words are not flowing today (precipitation is about the only thing that is gushing forth, i guess!). i really have nothing BIG to say, i just felt like blogging, but i guess my brain has other ideas!

any takers on nanowrimo? maybe next year will be THE YEAR i join in!?!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Lisa  On October 30, 2012 at 10:15 am

    I love the idea of nanowrimo! But I’m not gonna do it… I agree about the importance-time thing you mentioned. I’m trying to channel the version of myself that got really dedicated while I was doing my dissertation, to apply it to other areas of my life. So far, it’s not working great—I’ve gotta conjure up some determination, and I’m sure I wouldn’t be successful at it in the novel arena!

    • 1970kikiproject  On October 30, 2012 at 10:20 am

      well, you got your work done yesterday, lisa – that was a good accomplishment!! i do laugh sometimes when people say “i don’t have time” – i love the whole time management psychology – fascinating!

  • Fran@BCDC  On October 29, 2012 at 3:23 pm

    Ok, Ladies…I wish I could say I’ve decided, but as yet, I still have not. If I hadn’t thought about it, it would be find…I would just dive in like last year. But too much thinking is never good for me. Stephanie…I’ve missed you!!! Please come back even if you come back as a Zombie!!!!

    • 1970kikiproject  On October 29, 2012 at 3:28 pm

      ah, fran, you are going to keep us in suspence right til thursday, i guess!! we will all need to visit your blog to find out your decision! i hear you on just diving into a project – remember the blogging a-z challenge? i signed up the night before, just jumped in, and had fun. so i understand about how you just went for nanowrimo last year!

  • Stacie @ Snaps and Bits  On October 28, 2012 at 6:08 pm

    I think I’d best skip it this year! So much and with this hurricane about to slam us, not sure what types of distractions will ensue with damage/clean up! Maybe next year!

    • 1970kikiproject  On October 28, 2012 at 6:18 pm

      stacie, my fingers are crossed for you with that impending storm. i hope it does not create too much destruction. yup, best not to be saying “but i have to get my 2000 words in for today!!!”

  • stephanie  On October 28, 2012 at 4:45 pm

    I’m in again! Honestly, it didn’t take all that much time…maybe just an hour to an hour and a half per day. My main problem is that i spend too much time going back and changing things. I’m actually thinking about doing it longhand this year, since it will force me to just keep going instead of fixing and editing.

    re: out of blog practice, oh, do I hear you! My lightbox (ie. a cardboard box covered in tissue paper) fell to pieces, so it’s hard to take pictures. It’s been MONTHS since I blogged. I’m kind of at a point now where I haven’t really decided if I’m just going to let the blog go to sleep.

    Anyway, I was happy to see your smiling face pop up in my reader! I’m glad that all is well…and i really hope that you join in on Nanowrimo next year!

    • 1970kikiproject  On October 28, 2012 at 5:19 pm

      stephanie!! thanks for the wonderful comment – it is a joy to hear from you again. and thanks for the details on the time commitment for nanowrimo (you are our resident expert). GOOD LUCK with the writing and i like your idea of going old-school with longhand. i’d love progress reports and/or a final “it’s finished!” announcement! seriously, i have struggled with blogging mojo/scheduling since i stopped once-a-day posts, i bet you can relate. i do miss your blog, but totally get how there’s other stuff in life, too!

  • Zo  On October 28, 2012 at 4:08 pm

    I haven’t gotten beyond the shock of….man, it’s November, already! So, I hadn’t even thought of NaNoWriMo…so, I don’t think so. I would probably say I don’t have time, but I do sort of agree with you that you make time for what you really want to do!

    • 1970kikiproject  On October 28, 2012 at 5:15 pm

      i know!! only THREE days left of october…is it bad if i say i kinda just want to get november over with?! it’s always dreary…and december is much more exciting with the holidays!

Leave a Reply

