nobody is telling ME when to be nice: r.a.o.k #7

twin photos of the day: monday november 12th:

this is super doug!

this is super al!

remember how friday was r.a.o.k. day here in waterloo? as the day went on, i decided to be a contrarian and refuse to be nice. i just can’t jump on board with telling people to be thoughtful on a certain day. one of my fb friends summed up my sentiments when he posted:

Aaagggghhhhh!!! If you do a “random” act of kindness on random act of kindness day …. IT’S NOT RANDOM!!! Maybe we should be being nice to each other EVERY day, and not some stupid day deemed to be (not) random. OK, I’m done ranting now :).

so, i decided it would be fun to be nice today. yesterday, i went here….

our neighbourhood location

…and purchased these…

i bypassed the holiday-themed cards…it’s a little early, still

…to give to our two building superintendents (al and doug, as you see in the photos, above). these guys work hard, and yes, many residents, myself included, thank them at christmas. but why not let them know i appreciate their efforts…today?!

i found each gentleman earlier this morning, and gave him a GC along with my thanks for his fine work. [and yes, i asked if i could feature them on the blog!]

ah! r.a.o.k. #7 is in the bag!

happy random act of kindness monday!

p.s. don’t you just love when you can be as nice as you’re going to get for the whole day, all before 9 a.m.?!

p.p.s. i think it would be really funny to do a year-long RAOK theme where s’bux is involved somehow in every action. hmmm!…

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Zo  On November 18, 2012 at 10:47 am

    That is too funny…I have the same sort of contrarian streak! I suppose I do RAOKs but often don’t think of them as such…I should try to take note, especially since I do a 5 things I’m grateful for or that I did that were “positive” list each day about the day before.

    • 1970kikiproject  On November 18, 2012 at 10:49 am

      that is great that you do that daily list, zo. really helps us realize all the good things we have in life, even on a challenging day. it’s fun that we can do big or small RAOKs…when we feel like it!!

  • Fran@BCDC  On November 13, 2012 at 8:02 am

    Great idea, Cathy! It’s great to do something nice like that. I don’t do it as often as I should. I’m going to try more often! Thanks for the nudge!

    • 1970kikiproject  On November 13, 2012 at 8:47 am

      isn’t it funny, fran, that we need to try to be randomly nice, or plan ahead for it! i’m keeping my eyes open for more opportunities to be spontaneous/in the moment!!

  • Stacie @ Snaps and Bits  On November 12, 2012 at 8:09 pm

    How awesome of you to think of them Cath! I bet you made their days.

  • Ele  On November 12, 2012 at 10:05 am

    I personally love doing things for people and not letting them know it was from me. Now that is really cool, only you and your diety know. Besides, everyone loves a surprise!

    • 1970kikiproject  On November 12, 2012 at 10:12 am

      thanks, ele! i so agree with you – i’ve done the anonymous good deed before and it is really fun to know that you made others happy…and only YOU know you did so! i am not surprised that you do RAOKs, too – that fits with what i know of you!

Leave a Reply

