happy wrestling day!

on the twenty-sixth day of december...

hello, friends!

i hope you are enjoying your christmas vacation. we had a green christmas day this year, and i didn’t mind a bit!

wrestling day was the brother’s name for BOXING DAY, way back when. we both thought it very funny!

today is the day i traditionally take down my christmas decorations. they’ve been up for a while this year! the condo casa looks so cosy and so homey with all the red and green accessories on display…i will miss this festive look. think anyone would notice if i still had xmas décor up on may 2-4?!!

i may not get the decs down today, though: i’m back at the store for boxing wrestling day promotions and sales and returns -> hopefully, not too many of that last one [most stores don’t even take returns on boxing day although we do]. then after work, dad and i are going out for our outing of the month! it was either today at 4:30 p.m., or new year’s eve at 5:30 p.m.! i was tempted to pick new year’s eve, actually – nothing like leaving our outing til the VERY last possible minute! dad and i are going back to starbucks today because that’s where we’ve gone for the last three months in a row!…and it’s pretty much the only coffee shop open in uptown waterloo! i anticipate a good visit – and we’ll have fun discussing yesterday’s family christmas! (come back tomorrow for the recap!).

i could de-christmas-ize the condo casa tonight, but nicole let me borrow her dvd of “the time traveler’s wife” and i’m quite excited to watch it asap, esp while the book is still fresh in my mind.

did you go boxing day shopping today, and if so, did you nab any great deals? and did you notice how so many retailers had mega-sales before christmas this year? it seemed like the time between american thanksgiving and christmas was one big sale season!

tonight’s plans: maintain my dismantle-xmas tradition or view the movie? vote, please!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Johanna B  On December 27, 2011 at 1:14 pm

    Boxing day isn’t celebrated here and since Christmas was on a Sunday, the federal holidy was on Monday, which means the buses didn’t run. Therefore, I was stuck at home with only my feet to take me where I needed to go. I did a 45 minute walk but didn’t stop anywhere interesting. I want to stop at the new coffee shop that’s locally owned and only about a 12 minute walk away from my house but I haven’t been yet. It’s just the kind of place I’ve been hoping would open close to me and now, I haven’t been yet. (It’s been open for 3 weeks I think).

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 27, 2011 at 1:17 pm

      it is only the last couple of years that i have realized that boxing day is not a holiday in the U.S.! i’ts pretty much turned into a shopping frenzy of a day up here in canada! i hope you get to the coffee shop soon – too funny that it has been open 3 weeks and you have yet to go. maybe you’ll get there before the end of 2011? glad you got out for a nice walk yesterday, johanna!

  • Dorry  On December 26, 2011 at 10:32 pm

    I hope you had a good day at the store! I actually had today off, but I’m eager to get back to the store tomorrow. 🙂 I hope you are watching your movie and relaxing after working on such a busy day!

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 27, 2011 at 6:05 am

      thanks, dorry! the lululemon store here was open, and i heard from customers that they were lined up to get in (they only let in so many people at once)! my movie didn’t work out – i will explain tomorrow! hope your shift goes well today and that there are not TOO many returns (’tis now the season!).

  • Ali  On December 26, 2011 at 5:57 pm

    Movie! You’ll be tired after a busy day at work. I went to Lululemon this morning. Waited in line for 20mins just to get in, but got some sweet deals. (found my fave running shorts for $29!) If I was a size 8 I could have gotten much more stuff. There wasn’t much left in small sizes. After that I worked the rest of the day.

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 26, 2011 at 6:54 pm

      movie will begin at 7 pm! thanks for your vote, ali! we WERE busy today! and i heard about the lulu line from some customers…glad you found some shorts! that’s a GREAT price! hope you enjoy your evening!

  • Gina Unger  On December 26, 2011 at 4:44 pm

    Movie for sure! (Glad I read this blog b/c I was actually going to bring my copy along to lend you!) Hope you enjoy it. I did, but haven’t read the book, so maybe makes a diff? lemme know. BTW, we watched the Charlie Brown Xmas show as a family – AND loved it!!! go figure! i’d totally forgotten that we rec’d the storybook last year from Gayle and so was reading it to them over and over this year and thought, “let’s watch the show”. i saw it thru new eyes. 🙂
    hope you’re having a great outing with your pops and enjoy taking down the decor later on.

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 26, 2011 at 5:33 pm

      ok – movie it is, for sure! and now you’ll have more room in your suitcase – haha! thanks for thinking to bring me the dvd, though! oh, i am so glad you watched charlie brown with the kidlets and that you found it more enjoyable. it truly is cute, isn’t it. i will for sure post a movie review in the next few days!

  • Zo  On December 26, 2011 at 11:08 am

    Movie! The decorations can wait.
    I’m not planning to hit any sales today (or go to any stores). I did notice the mega sales and how on Dec. 24th, the stores were advertising post Christmas sales. And I had several coupon e-mails that came yesterday too!

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 26, 2011 at 11:37 am

      thanks for the vote, zo! yea, a movie night does sound more enticing at this point! enjoy your day! hope some reading and relaxing is on your agenda – if not shopping! 🙂

  • Stephanie  On December 26, 2011 at 10:08 am

    Movie. Definitely. But then, I’m a “take christmas down in January” kind of girl.

    • 1970kikiproject  On December 26, 2011 at 10:30 am

      Mom said movie, too – you pretty much should listen to your mom, right?!
      Esp for you this year, celebrating with family for a january christmas, keeping the decorations up longer is the right thing to do!

Leave a comment