Duncan and Jillian’s Wedding a la Bill Cunningham

Saturday, we happily celebrated with Jillian and Duncan at their wedding. (You can read about their February stag ‘n’ doe here). Jillian’s Dad, Jeff, is a very close friend; plus, he lives in the unit right under our Condo Casa – remember when we went to his annual Super Bowl party?!).

In terms of writing both a blog post and a wedding recap, I am inspired today by the documentary I saw last weekend about Bill Cunningham. (He’s the photographer for the New York Times columns “On the Street” and “Evening Hours.).

What better occasion at which to capture high fashion and a festive atmosphere than at a wedding?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

First, in honour of “On the Street,” our theme is “Wedding Finery.”

Chic accoutrements were sighted at a May 28th wedding reception at the new Tannery Event Space. Of note: sky-high heels, satin fabrics, florals with pop; and mega-watt smiles of genuine affection on the faces of friends and family.

Flowers:

Frocks:

Fabulous Footwear:

[I am now totally delirious over stilettos. Like I want to run out right this moment tomorrow and purchase a pair. I can’t walk in heels, so no clue as to what I’d do in 6″ towers, but they. look. amazing].

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Now, in honour of “Evening Hours…”

May 28th:

from the seating chart

The Tannery Event Centre, Kitchener. This elegant, historic building, featuring a soaring ceiling, exposed brickwork, and  state-of-the-art sound and visual systems, provided the chic backdrop to the evening wedding reception for Duncan W. and Jillian K.

One hundred and twenty guests mingled in the lobby of this recently renovated building before progressing to the main hall for a sumptuous four-course catered dinner.

Miraculously, the rains held off until after dark. The evening was a joyful celebration of true love and the twining of two hearts.

[In my attempt to be a social photographer, I learned a few lessons: 1) it is very hard to capture people who are talking or presenting without their mouths open, eyes, down, and with complimentary facial expressions 2) lighting is tricky to work with when you have a point-and-shoot camera 3) you really have to snap a TON of photos to edit through and find the best ones (I did not do this!) 4) photographing special events is fun! I’d like to do this more often!].

(photos and recap are shared with permission)

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

When was the last wedding you attended, and how did you know the newlyweds? I can’t even remember the last wedding I was at before Duncan and Jillian’s!

Can you recommend any fabulous fashion-oriented blogs? Seeing all the glam dresses and heels last eve has awakened my inner fashionista, and also, I’m looking to expand my blog-reading horizons; so please let me know if there’s a style blog out there that you really enjoy!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Gina Unger  On June 1, 2011 at 8:50 am

    Loved the way you captured this wedding – the photo progression and story is wonderful!

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 1, 2011 at 8:53 am

      thanks, g! i don’t know how newspaper writers/photographers do it, though…this was a harder “assignment” than i anticipated!!

  • Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun  On June 1, 2011 at 6:28 am

    Love the black and teal together! Looks like a great time. Weddings are usually either so fun or torture to get through to me. Luckily the last one I went to was for one of my best friends and was a fun one. 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 1, 2011 at 6:58 am

      i think the better you know the couple, the more fun the wedding is (?). speeches hold the most potential to be torturous…i liked this reception because they sprinkled the speeches throughout the eve.

  • Lisa  On May 31, 2011 at 9:05 pm

    I love weddings! I haven’t been to one in a while…I think summer before last was the last one, and we went to one in mexico right before that. I was supposed to go to one last weekend (but I missed it due to vacay) and I have my cousin’s wedding in Cali at the end of June….I guess I don’t care much about the wedding part, but the receptions are fun!

    I love heels—I have some pretty high ones, usually not more than 5 inches though. They are hard to walk in, but sometimes worth the sacrifice 🙂

    I have absolutely no fashion site recommendations—I’m terrible at that!

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 31, 2011 at 9:10 pm

      i agree – the reception is the most fun! lovely that you have your cousin’s wedding coming up, shortly! glad to hear you find heels a walking challenge, too! i would be much better off if i could be carried about as a mannequin and simply moved from spot to spot (and my heels this weekend were maybe 3 inches?!?)

  • Tiff  On May 31, 2011 at 12:43 pm

    What a lovely wedding. I’m loving that robbin’s egg blue – perfect for the season!

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 31, 2011 at 1:21 pm

      Honestly, these were the most beautiful bridesmaid dresses I’ve ever seen, both in terms of style and colour. I want one!

  • Johanna B  On May 31, 2011 at 10:16 am

    The last wedding I attended was my daughter’s Halloween wedding in 2010. Everyone dressed in costume including the minister who performed the ceremony. She was a witch! I think I posted photos at the time but if not let me know and I’ll shoot some your way. Little Ivan now weighs 10 lbs 2 oz and is 22″ long. He’s growing and that is good.

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 31, 2011 at 10:23 am

      wow, that’s a neat wedding theme, johanna! can you believe i, too, have attended a wedding on hallowe’en (they didn’t dress up, though). that’s wonderful that little ivan is doing so well – i bet you saw him this past weekend!

  • Holly  On May 31, 2011 at 9:21 am

    I’m sure there are more, but the only fashion blog I read is jseverydayfashion.com

    Looks like a beautiful wedding! I love the blue color of the bridesmaids dresses. The last wedding I went to was last weekend — Jason’s uncle. This weekend we have another wedding: Jason’s mom’s boyfriend’s brother! It is at a winery and it should be a really nice event.

    • 1970kikiproject  On May 31, 2011 at 9:29 am

      thanks for the fashion blog, holly – i will check it out! oh, a winery venue sounds really lovely – i’ve never been to a reception at that type of setting. i bet you’ll have a lovely time.

Leave a comment