I Love to Laugh!

Late Sunday aft, we went out to the movies.

I felt in need of huge belly laughs – bring on The Hangover II. Rarely are Part 2’s as good as the first movie, but I laughed like heartily at The Hangover, (well, laughs alternated with “ewww’s of disgust) so I was eager to check out the film.

(source)

We picked the 5:20 p.m. showing since my cinematic experiment a few weeks ago was a total thumbs up experience.

Disappointed!!!

I think I chuckled twice, grinned three times, and checked my watch five times. Not good. It’s just a poorly written, trying-too-hard “storyline,” and Zach Galifianakis is annoying, not amusing. The bests: the soundtrack, the monkey, the photo sequence during the final credits,

If you’ve seen The Hangover II, let me know your opinion.

So, I’m still searching for my make-me-cry-I’m-laughing-so-hard moment.

In all my life, I think my ratio of # of laughs in a day:# hours in the day was highest during high school. Here’s why:

  • I used to get super-hyper after dinner. Mom and I would clear up the kitchen, and I remember getting sooo giddy and silly! I’d laugh and laugh and laugh. Think it was something bout the time of day and the post-food energy rush.
  • high school friends: some of the guys in our class would make under-their-breath comments during class about a few of our teachers; I remember stifling my laughter with my hand over my mouth very often
  • Gina. The two of us could laugh together like nobody’s business. This continued will into our 20’s, esp when we lived together as roommates one summer. Even last weekend, we did a lot of laughing in 2.5 hours of visiting!

That makes me think of other people who have always made me laugh:

  • The Brother
  • The Brother + our long-time friend Dave (Alfie!)
  • my (second) cousin, Lisa
  • My Uncle Paul: when I was little, Uncle Paul was the most hilarious adult I knew. I’d have an achy tummy when we had to go home from seeing Uncle Paul, that’s how much I laughed

I laugh pretty easily, so any time there’s more than 3-4 people gathered together, I’ll pretty much be doing a lot of laughing. I think funny people I know make me laugh more sidesplittingly than observing comedians or passively taking in a film/TV show.

So, seeing as The Hangover II was a bust, I’ll have to think back to other movies that DID make my cheeks ache from laughing:

And TV shows:

I think it’d be a great summer-time goal to increase laughing time.

What/who makes you laugh? I’ve mentioned just some highlights, above. I’ve read some pretty funny books, too (I’ve laughed out loud at select David Sedaris pieces, for example).

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

Today’s title is in direct reference to the movie, Mary Poppins (one of my childhood favourites). There’s a scene where Mary (Julie Andrews) takes the Banks children out for tea. At the tea party, Bert and Uncle Albert -then Mary – laugh so hard they float up to the ceiling.

(source)

Obviously, that’s never happened to me, but when I do laugh really, really, hard, I’m completely soundless, and just shake with mirth, tears rolling down my cheeks. My Grandma C was the same way!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Andrea Budding  On June 16, 2011 at 9:35 pm

    Cathy, you’ve got to see Bridesmaids! Joel and I caught it with friends last weekend and were in stitches. Warning: it’s just as crass as The Hangover II but much, much funnier. I could totally see it again in theatres, it was THAT good! 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 16, 2011 at 9:38 pm

      oh, i am so glad you and joel saw bridesmaids!! i DID see and LOVED it – i laughed so hard. i agree – crass, but totally made me howl. if you guys were here, i’d make you go AGAIN with me!!! 🙂

  • Zo  On June 15, 2011 at 6:52 am

    Bridesmaids made me laugh and tear up a little! When I’m home and Zoolander comes on, I always end up cracking up. I end up watching Office marathons all the time too.

  • Gina Unger  On June 14, 2011 at 12:30 pm

    Great post, Cath! I remember our laughing spells well! A few times immediately stand out in my mind right now. I love laughing right out loud in a movie or a book. I laughed loudly during the movie, Confessions of a Shopaholic, laugh regularly as I watch the DVDs of all the Friends episodes or when we watch The Office, and as far as reading material goes, Dave Barry used to make me laugh out loud a lot. It’s so cathartic to have a good belly laugh… much needed more often! 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 14, 2011 at 12:37 pm

      i just now remembered our huge laughing spells during church – man, those were the worst as we really could NOT burst out in guffaws!! “friends” – for a mainstream sitcom, it really is a laugh out loud funny show!

  • Johanna B  On June 14, 2011 at 10:05 am

    Laughter is a good thing. There was a guy I dated in college who used to keep me in stitches. It was bad when we were in class and the instructor would make a double entendre and we’d look at each other and the laughter would just ring out. Didn’t make the instructor happy but…

    I’m a “When Harry Met Sally” fan, too.

    These days I watch “The Big Bang Theory” when I need a big chuckle. I find that show hilarious.

  • Holly  On June 14, 2011 at 8:56 am

    Cathy you are right on about David Sedaris! I cry from laughing so hard when I read his books. He is hilarious! A show that I think is hilarious (and not on anymore) is Arrested Development. That show makes me cry too — I think it is the funniest show.

    Too bad about Hangover 2, although I didn’t really laugh during the first one either!

  • The Orchard  On June 14, 2011 at 7:39 am

    Whoops. Typo in my own name!

    Tricia 🙂

  • The Orchard  On June 14, 2011 at 7:38 am

    I laughed out loud several times during the movies Date Night and Bridesmaids. However, I am a huge fan of Tina Fey and Kristen Wiig (both SNL alumni) so perhaps that is why I found both movies funny!

    Have you seen either of those?

    I also love The 40-Year Old Virgin (also love Steve Carell – who is also in Date Night), Seinfeld and When Harry Met Sally (also one of my faves of all time)!

    Cheers!

    Tricai

    • 1970kikiproject  On June 14, 2011 at 8:40 am

      oh yes! i LOVED both date night and bridesmaids, and L’dOL a lot for both – date night was way more funny than i anticipated. when harry met sally – sooo great, all around – i can never get tired of watching it!

Leave a comment