New Experience #2: Attend the IDS11

Yesterday, BFF Debbie and I attended the 2011 Interior Design Show in Toronto. This excursion qualifies as New Experience #2 because a) I have never been to an interior design show, and b) I got to stalk see not one but two of my favourite design personalities, for the first time, up close and personal!

In a nutshell, our day was fantabulous.

We got our initial view of the design show as we strolled over from the parking garage:

the show took over the north building of the metro toronto convention centre

First, we met our good friend Sarah Richardson to review some paint samples. She was more than happy to pose for photos with us:

debbie and sarah...

...and me and the celebrity design guru!

Haha, don’t we wish this had been the case! Debbie and I are both big fans of Sarah’s shows on HGTV.

It didn’t take me long to make a purchase…how about 7 minutes after we arrived! But, really, how could I be expected to pass up…

ORANGE TOILET PAPER!!!

and not only orange! look at the colour options! and not only tp - they also had paper towels!

I had to choose my favourite colour, but seriously considered the black toilet paper, also. Why not make a dramatic statement in the bathroom!

later, back at home...now THAT adds a splash of colour to the powder room!

Debbie and I were terribly excited at the prospect of attending two free shows offered this Sunday.

At 12 noon…Lynda and Brian…

Join these two powerhouses of design as they share the trends they love most. Lynda Reeves and Brian Gluckstein have sorted through the biggest looks from around the world to bring you the best of the best. Come and get their hotlist.

(source)

Then at 2 pm, Suzanne and Tommy:

You won’t want to miss Canadian House & Home Editor Suzanne Dimma and designer and TV personality Tommy Smythe when they spill their secrets for giving professional polish to a space. Learn how to achieve an expensive “designer” look on a budget, and hear their tips on adding edge to your rooms.

(source)

At 11:15 a.m., we noticed that seats were filling up already for the 12 o’clock presentation by Lynda and Brian. Debbie and I tossed our jackets over two aisle seats in the 8th row, then wandered off to peruse the booths for 40 minutes. Only in Canada could you trust the honour system, I swear!

Debbie covets a wine fridge, such as this one, for her home:

some day, debbie!

If/when we ever renovate our bathrooms, I lust after a bowl sink for our main floor water closet:

i'm drooling...

Loved that both the 12 noon and 2 pm shows started bang on time.

bri-an! bri-an!

My favourite of the two presentations was Brian + Lynda. I *know* Brian from his Cityline appearances, and he was exactly as charismatic, dynamic and LOL funny as on TV. Lynda was more personable and warm than I expected, given the tone of her voice in written articles in House & Home magazine, and the times I have seen her on TV. Together, the two were witty, compatible, and obviously close friends, given their relaxed demeanors and comfortable rapport.

pic snapped from our 8th row seats!

Plus, they gave sound design tips! The forever student in me I jotted notes, a few of which I’ll pass along, here.

Theme: “Talking Trends:”

  • wallpaper
  • charcoal instead of black
  • grey and black in the kitchen; no upper cabinets in the kitchen
  • banquettes as kitchen seating
  • the closet as furniture: feature an armoire (SIL Ana and The Brother just did this!)
  • have ONE statement chair

Between the two shows, we spent a lot of time at the ELTE booth. This area rug was the best find of the entire show for me:

i could not tear my eyes from this gorgeous piece!

Price? $3195. High, yes. Beyond what I would have thought? No. Plus, I love the story behind these one-of-a-kind rugs:

explanation of the "second life" rugs - i could support this type of initiative!

another rug as backdrop

Our most delightful conversation of the day occurred with Ken from ELTE – for some reason, we just got engaged in conversation, and spent at least 10 minutes chatting! Ken has been with the company for 32 years, and his sons are fourth generation! [I just read the company history here; Ken is the grandson of the founder].

i will definitely search out ken, should i ever need a contact at ELTE!

Then, it was back to the stage for…

so excited to see tommy live!!!

yea for 6th row seats! (and realizing i should turn the flash OFF on my camera!)

Tommy is the reason I watch Sarah Richardson’s shows, to be honest! (And did you know he is the grandson of Conn Smythe?!)

Tommy and Suzanne presented on “Designer Tricks.” We learned that:

  • no kitchen is too tiny to have an island
  • the statement chair must be attractive from a 360 degree view
  • when starting out, look at how you want to use your home: where do you want your tv? do you even want a tv?
  • poppies are Tommy’s favourite flower 🙂

I also really enjoyed this presentation. Tommy and Suzanne were high energy, enjoy an obvious camaraderie, and shared helpful tips. However, I didn’t feel that they were quite as poised or polished as Brian and Lynda; also, the audience did not seem as entralled and in love. That being said, I still give all four presenters A+ in terms of “entertainment value.”

Both Debbie and I wholeheartedly agreed that we would have gladly paid the price of admission solely for the two shows that we watched. They were most definitely the highlight of our day.

We finished off with a tour through four design spaces by Sibling Revelry. This was the only area where we had to wait in a line-up. I was really impressed with the number of Sibling Revelry collaborators present (both Dixons, the Dressler brothers) , interacting with the general public as we toured through…

My two highlights:

Seeing the designer Lar Dressler, an eco-modern designer:

if i had to cast an alternative-designer for say, a woody allen movie, i'd go with lars! here in his space...

Viewing the three rooms designed by Sarah Richardson, using her brother, Theo’s, pieces:

a bit of background history before entering sarah's three rooms...

definitely sarah-styled

Debbie and I departed with happy hearts. The whole day was a delightful experience from start to finish. We’re contemplating bumping it up a notch next year, and springing for tix to the Thursday evening Opening Night Party! Go schmooze with Brian, Sarah, Tommy, Lynda…??? Sign us up!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Gina Unger  On February 2, 2011 at 10:32 am

    WOW! I feel like I was at the design show with you guys! You captured the whole day wonderfully here!
    Okay, yeah, the orange toilet paper is a big hit – I think I wouldn’t have stopped at just one colour though – sign me up for a rainbow of colours, please!
    Bowl sinks – always my fav when I see one of those at a restaurant bathroom or at someone’s home. And I’ve seen a variety of really cool faucets to go with those type of sinks, too! Dream on, Gina… won’t be happening for quite awhile, methinks!
    I would’ve been taking notes at the shows, too! Just an automatic must for me at a great presentation. 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On February 2, 2011 at 10:43 am

      oh, the colours were fabulous! i was super-tempted to get more…but it $5.95 for 6 rolls, plus i had to tote everything with me for the rest of the day…but i really would have loved the paper towels, too. black would make a lovely dramatic statement…even though they’d just be used for sopping up spilled water, etc!!

  • Andrew Metrick  On February 1, 2011 at 2:40 pm

    Andrew Metrick from Elte here. I wanted to quickly thank you not only for stopping by our booth but for mentioning us in this latest blog post. Ken’s actually my dad, which makes my brother and I the fourth generation to be working in the business. We had an unbelievable time at the show. Everyone seemed to really take to our Second Life rugs and it was just such a pleasure to meet everyone that came by.

    Can’t wait to see you at Elte or Ginger’s sometime soon!

    All the best,

    Andrew.

  • Kristina  On February 1, 2011 at 8:10 am

    All I can think about is that orange toilet paper-how fun!

Leave a comment