The Daily Grill

I had a special breakfast date lined up for this morning: why, hello, Dad!

dad chose the restaurant for our outing today - his favourite breakfast spot!

This morning, Dad and I fulfilled our Outing of the Month for January – click here to read up on this monthly “coupon” idea I had for 2011.

We arrived about 9 a.m. and practically had the restaurant to ourselves – that meant we scored a window booth!

ideal spot to people watch...and parking lot watch??!

Our waitress arrived pronto, and promptly poured us two steaming mugs of coffee. Given my latest infatuation, I happily accepted!

mmmm!!!

ok, no need to be quite so excited!

The Daily Grill is your typical homestyle, family establishment. We perused the menu…

all the usuals you would hope for...

…and decided on our choices. About 2 minutes – literally – after we placed our order, we were served!

dad, the breakfast photographer!

The “Daily Grill Requisite” for Dad, while I put together a couple of sides (sadly, they were fresh out of muffins). The waitress warned that my fruit salad would be “heavy on the melon” – fine and dandy with me! That’s just the way I like it! I also stole helped myself to potato wedges from Dad’s plate – yum!

Dad shared his easy-over egg-eating philosophy: slurp the yolk, but avoid getting any on your plate:

a practised technique...

Dad successfully inhaled his first egg, but the second yolk was a bit ornery:

yolk on the plate! yolk on the plate!

We chatted about a variety of subjects, everything from stocks (Dad’s an investing fiend in his spare time) to travel to running…never a quiet moment.

Eleven more outings await! Each month, we’ll hit a different spot, and vary our time of day: lunch, coffee break, afternoon snack…anything is fair game. Can’t wait!

couldn't pass up capturing our outing with a self-portrait, of course!

~*~*~

Guess what B reminded me of last eve? I DO have another mug in the house!

where was that hiding?!

B purchased this S’bucks travel mug for me a few years ago…I think at the time, I was contemplating coffee drinking…but never got around to it. It’s got quite the storage capacity!

my mug-of-the-moment on the left, new option on the right...

Wow! A coupla cups of joe in THAT and i’ll be positively kramer-esque

Seinfeld Episode: The Maesto: “…Kramer follows through on his lawsuit against the coffee house that gave him hot coffee in the previous episode. As a result of the lawsuit Kramer can get free coffee at coffee houses all over the world but soon discovers that caffeine causes him to become hyper.” (source)

Here’s the rest of today’s planned agenda, since B is at the college, then has a meeting tonight:

~I’m going to make up a batch of chocolate chip cookies from this culinary tome:

no fears that the recipe will turn out - this book is a masterpiece, i hear!

~Then tonight, I hope to watch this DVD that Winnipeg Gina lent me:

a running-themed movie? right up my alley!

I’ll post a review tomorrow…and then I can get your movie back to you, asap, Gina!

Any popular neighbourhood breakfast spots where you are?

Uptown has a lot of choices…but we actually left the ‘hood for The Daily Grill!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Katherine: Unemployed  On January 19, 2011 at 6:21 am

    Had to stop in since we were both commenting on healthytipping this morning; you beat me to the first comment haha have a great day! hope that running movie is good; if anything the old-school aspect will be fun
    Have a good day!
    Katherine

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 19, 2011 at 6:35 am

      haha! another early bird! the movie was really inspiring and a good one to watch – i’m going to post my comments later today! have a good one!

  • Gina Unger  On January 18, 2011 at 7:07 pm

    I love your idea for outings with your family members once a month! What a really great idea and great thing to do. I just wish I COULD do that – it might get a bit pricey if I tried, eh?!
    Have a good time watching the movie tonight. I hope you enjoy it as much as Jeff and I did, but if you don’t, no worries. “Chacun son gout!”

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 18, 2011 at 7:11 pm

      haha – yes, if you were to try this with your family, you’d be best off purchasing a private jet! 🙂 but your family’s christmas gift exchange is along the same lines…you just had a condensed time frame in which to go out! it’s fun to think of unique gifts, and people appreciate the gift of time, i think. and food! 🙂 esp at our age – who needs more socks/dvd’s/”stuff!” i’m mid-movie as we speak, and will have my review up tomorrow! so far, so good!!! have you guys tried “run, fat boy, run?” it’s more “hollywood” but entertaining, still!

  • Kristina @ Life as Kristina  On January 18, 2011 at 4:38 pm

    I LOVE family style bfasts! My fiance and I are always trying to find little mom and pop restaurants-they’ve got the best bfasts!!!!

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 18, 2011 at 4:51 pm

      i agree! and usually the atmosphere is super cosy! not a fan of flourescent lighting and fast-food decor colours first thing in the morning!!!

  • Lisa @Thrive Style  On January 18, 2011 at 3:30 pm

    Looks like a great breakfast with your dad—I really need to make an effort to do more things with my dad. We just don’t make the time, but we really should!

    There is one breakfast place near me that everyone goes to, called Jines, and it’s really great—I usually get the buckwheat pancakes!

    I’ll be interested in your review of the movie! Have a great day 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On January 18, 2011 at 4:24 pm

      buckwheat pancakes – those sound neat!! The Daily Grill had choco chip pancakes on their menu…can you imagine those+coffee??! we’d be bouncing for sure!!!

Leave a comment