Daily Archives: July 19, 2011

Groupon Be Gone!

Yesterday evening, I headed up to Conestoga Mall. My Groupon for Old Navy was burning a hole in my pocket in my knapsack. It expires on July 31st, and as someone who does not enjoy leaving things til the last minute (!), I was getting antsy to use it up. Yes, twelve days away is verging on “last minute” territory!!!!

It is hot, hot, hot in Southern Ontario! And I am happy, happy, happy! I  love and adore the heat (although we’ll talk on that again after Thursday when the high is to be 37 degrees Celsius, 46 with the humidex) but it was nice to escape into the air-conditioned coolness of the mall. [Sidenote: we have air-conditioning in the Condo Casa, but I only put it on at night to conserve energy/save money/go green, and because I do not enjoy living in an ice box].

OK! Back to shopping. I picked a great time of day to go (about 6 p.m.) because Old Navy was empty – that was the positive…unfortunately, the negative side is that the summer wear is hugely picked over.

Last week, before we saw “Horrible Bosses,” VFBF Joanne and I had about 4.5 minutes to scoot through Old Navy. What I glommed onto during that quick trip was this:

remember this fabric - we'll come back to it

I had the best time shopping around last eve! I love clothes shopping at any time – for myself or for others – and last night, I had nowhere I had to be at any time, so I totally dinked around and took my time. As in I made three separate visits to the fitting rooms as I whittled down my options.

As I said to Joanne last week, I am soooo weak when it comes to tshirts!

no, no and no - just walk away!

Not even this one?

NOOOOO!!!!

*sigh.*

Moving on…

Another weakness is fitness wear. I have to remind myself that I have access to tons o’ this stuff at the store. NO!!!

knock-off of lulu styles, most definitely

These ruffled tanks were super-cute – and on sale from $19.94 to $10:

i liked the floral patterns the best (yes, even better than the ORANGE); remember these, too

After those three trips to the dressing rooms, I had narrowed down my choice of top to two:

the same ruffled top as shown above - black is so versatile, and i loved the fit

part of the active wear line

That magenta top was a total surprise – I loved the fit and look. See the elastic at the bottom? That really surprised me – it was so comfy and the blousy look it gave was quite attractive! Sadly, it was not on sale – but still reasonably priced at $17.96.

You’ll remember I paid $10 for the $20 Groupon. The easy solution would have been to get both the black and magenta tops…plus my “mystery purchase.” But I really wanted to stick to the $20 range…so what did I do? [Please note that this decision-making process took A G E S!!!].

Well, I ended up putting in just over $5 (added to the $20 from the Groupon), then I came home with…

the black ruffled cami/top...

I chose the black because it will go well with my skirt, or any of my shorts.

silver thongs - $6, can be dressed up or down...

I had to give in to one of my weaknesses!!!

And the pièce de résistance, the coup of the evening, the purchase that made me giggle and dance

ta da!

Recognize that, Jo?!

Now, technically, I am very sure that this is a beach cover up. But I am going to wear it as a dress. Yes, it’s a little see-through, but put the right undergarments on, and there’ll be no worries – also know the proper occasions at which to wear it (Aunti day? yes. Church? not so much). AND – here’s the details on the price (more dancing!):

Regular price – $29.50.

What I paid – $7.50

Not lying!!! Unbelievable, eh?! PLUS, it was THE ONLY ONE like it left. Hellloooo, Kiki-dress!

So, the Groupon is well-spent, I can strike “go to Old Navy” from my July To Do List, and R E L A X in my *dress!*

Found any great bargains on summer wear? Conestoga Mall is a shopper’s paradise right now. Aéropostale has tons of shorts on for $5!

~*~*~*~*~

Badwater Ultra update: I have to give you a link to distinguished ultrarunner Dan Rose’s blog, Run 192. Dan crewed for his friend, Chris Roman, in last week’s race, and his account of the experience, “Badwater Crew/Pace Report” is fascinating. Dan gives an insider’s/”backstage pass” account of Chris’ race (Chris ended up finishing 16th, overall). There are tons of photos and really interesting anecdotes.