Daily Archives: July 18, 2011

…And All That Jazz

Saturday night it was way too amazing out to stay indoors:

the colour of that sky just makes your heart sing!

There was so much going on in Uptown Waterloo this weekend!

The Jazz Festival was the star of the show. Friday night I was at the ball game and Saturday I worked, so my first opportunity to visit the Jazz Festival was Saturday eve.

this year's program cover

Now, I’m not a jazz fan at all. But, in talking with people who are more familiar with this style of music than I am, I learned that there are many types of jazz music. [I’ve always just pictured saxophones and/or Ella Fitzgerald in my head. Or Bill Clinton]. By the looks of the program, there is a great variety of acts at the Jazz Festival. I was hoping to hear some new-to-me sounds.

How do you entice people to come out to an event? First of all, offer free entry:

a well-populated venue, on saturday eve!

full view of the stage + seating area

Free parking:

…and lotsa (free) port-o-lets!

reminiscent of a running race scene!

I wandered about, checking things out:

there were several food vendors, but the largest line-up was for ice cream!

view of the main stage

The Jazz Festival takes over the parking lot by Waterloo City Hall (and this year there was a satellite stage in the Uptown Square, during the day).

haha - i felt a little silly snapping photos with my point 'n' shoot, next to this guy!

There was an autograph area:

"deedee" is an unknown figure to me...but i loved her lashes!

...and she obviously has some devoted fans!

I heard one group play, while I was at the Festival:

again, never heard of this group (but then, reminder, i'm not up on jazz AT ALL)

performing...

Unfortunately, the style of jazz this group played was…just the type that I don’t like! It didn’t seem tuneful to me! But you know what I did like?…

check out his feet...!!

Playing barefoot on stage? Now that’s cool!

I didn’t stay all that long, but I enjoyed being outdoors on such a gorgeous night. And I loved the people-watching!

~*~*~*~*~

Yesterday, was the second Car-Free Sunday in Uptown Waterloo. King Street is blocked off from 11 a.m. – 3 p.m., and people are encouraged to come out and enjoy activities, and to use alternate forms of transportation to get out and about.

The store is located smack-dab in the middle of the car-free strip. Yesterday, I worked from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. (!) but I did get out for a break, so I checked out the action…or lack thereof:

traffic-free king street!

no confusion as to if you can or cannot drive here!

Among the goings-on:

a street performer (more that to come in august when it's buskers time!)

sidewalk sales...

...and chalk drawings! (i would have gobbled up that opportunity, as a kid!)

In front of our store…

they set up a lawn!

Car-Free Sunday is a super idea, and I hope it catches on. Yesterday, it was incredibly hot and sunny, and I think the intense weather kept some people away…King Street was not hugely populated, from what I could see. I just hope the “powers that be” give Car-Free Sunday a chance.

~*~*~*~*~

How did I end my Sunday? 🙂 …

Back at the bandshell! 🙂
I ♥ summer!

~*~*~*~*~

Jazz fan? I’d pick watching the Utah Jazz over listening to musical jazz!

Any “famous” festivals you hope to attend/have attended? I would love to get out to the Calgary Stampede some time! Never been!