Aruba Blue + Grocery Blues

I was paging through the newspaper on Canada Day at the store (seeing as how I had *a little* time on my hands) when this full page ad in the Shoppers Drug Mart flyer caught my eye:

notice the name of the nail polish colour??!

Hey hey! Only my favourite hot spot on earth:

file photo from my trip, march 2011

Some Essie-brand Nail Polish Colour-Namer must ♥ Aruba to pieces, too. Question: are they referring to the blue water or the blue sky? Both are fantabulous shades of gorgeousness.

As you see, the nail polish is available for $8.99…hmmm, remember the $10.11 I still have left on my Adidas Amex card? And after I tell you this next little story, I really think I’m meant to use it on “Aruba Blue“….

Inspired by “Aruba Blue,” (and the thought of writing this blog post), I decided to slap on some nail colour give myself a manicure last eve. Of course, my colour choice had to be blue.

I no sooner got out the little bottle of colour and look what happened:

i really am a full-fledged blogger now: for the first time ever, i thought to grab my camera before starting clean up

the crash 'n' smash happened so suddenly, i swear gremlins were at work...

Wah. (For the record, Wet ‘n’ Wild  – at about $3 a bottle – makes the best nail polish, in my books. I would choose it any day over OPI or another $$ brand. Doesn’t chip easily and dries super-quick).

Luckily, my pause to snap photos did not impinge on my ability to wipe up the (quickly drying) spilled nail colour. No harm done. I switched to my back up blue:

i have a whole series of metallics: this blue, a silver, a pink and a light purple

very summery. shall we call it "lake huron blue?!"

So, I’m feeling severely tempted to go pick up some “Aruba Blue” later today. I’m still chuckling because I’ve never dropped a bottle of nail polish in my life – it’s a sign!!!

Although, after you hear this next story, you’ll agree that I should be putting my $10.11 towards groceries…

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

Following Holly‘s lead, back in May, I conducted my own May Grocery Challenge which basically consisted of me tracking grocery expenditures and also trying to use coupons. I loved doing it! For June, I kept up the practice of saving all my receipts (and searching out coupons). I didn’t tally my money spent until June 30th.

Ho-ly. S*#& !!!

There is no way in H – E – double hockey sticks that I am going to tell you the final result. I was floored, completely and utterly (yes, that is double adjective usage, but that just shows my shock level).

I’m singing crying the grocery blues.

Now, of course, I’m going to justify my expenditure. Here goes:

  • I lump food, vitamins, toilet paper/bathroom necessities etc all together as “groceries.” So what I spent is not for food, alone.
  • I did a lot of stockpiling this month (except for coffee! Still good from May’s stashing!) when I found oft-used items on sale – maybe I over-stashed, but I can’t contain myself when I know I need and will eventually use an item. This month, I loaded up on: ~toilet paper ~peanut butter ~almond milk ~Puffins ~vitamins ~contact solution ~eye drops ~stevia ~tinned tuna, salmon, and shrimp – – > I am set on these items until 2012 for a while, I sure hope.
  • I refuse to go without fresh produce. Apples, lettuce, avacados, zucchini, cucumbers…these items are on the “daily edibles” list, and I will pay whatever I need in order to have them on hand. Sadly, you can’t stockpile fresh veggies and fruit. Happily, the grocery gods are smiling on me this coming week: both lettuce and avacados are on sale at Valumart!

With any luck, all this bulk-buying in June will impact the July totals (I do like tracking my bills, so I’m going to keep doing this). We shall see at the end of the month!

Favourite nail polish brand and/or colour? I like black, but it’s too heavy for July, IMO. And, Wet ‘n’ Wild is the way to go, friends, trust me.

Did you do any stockpiling in June? I’m now very low on storage space. TP is piled in the guest bathroom shower!

Happy Sunday, all!

Oh – I’m patting myself on the back because here we are at July 3rd and I have not spent one red cent on groceries this month (although I will have to make a run to Valumart later this eve).

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Lisa  On July 3, 2011 at 1:16 pm

    I love the metallic polish! I never paint my nails—but I wish I would. It’s one of those things that just never happens. I like the Aruba Blue–and I would definitely buy a nail polish as a gesture/link to one of my favorite places!

    I am dying to know what you spent in June—I am so afraid to do my own tallying. I just know it would be ridiculous. I went to the store three times just yesterday (which is mostly due to being absentminded & one store not having what I wanted)…but sometimes I go several times a week, and I feel like the amount is more than $50 no matter what I go in for. I’m with you–I won’t skimp on produce. Actually, I don’t think I’ve ever skimped on anything…even though I know I should be more aware.

    I’d like to say I’d try to budget, but I don’t think I would stick to it!
    A random question—do you buy bottled water? I always hem and haw about it–it seems like a good way to save money by not buying it (and I have a filter on my sink), but then I worry about the contamination in the water I’m drinking!

    Hope your weather is as beautiful as ours is!

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 3, 2011 at 1:28 pm

      I’ll send you an email with the total, lisa – just make sure you’re sitting down!
      I don’t buy bottled water. I’ve got a brita + waterloo water is fine, to my taste, anyway.
      Three times in one day?! Hilarious! I refuse to deprive myself, too – keeping a tally is more for informational purposes than trying to stick to a budget. Glad you don’t skimp-we need to enjoy favourites!
      It’s a gorgeous weekend here – glad you’ve got sunny skies, too!
      sent from my blackberry!

  • Holly @ The Runny Egg  On July 3, 2011 at 10:01 am

    I stockpiled the first week of June and I do think that helped a bit for us this month — but yes produce can get very pricey, especially if you eat a lot of it!

    Go get the Aruba Blue!!! It was meant for you.

  • Zo  On July 3, 2011 at 9:32 am

    I am actually wearing a metallic blue/lavender polish on my toes now (by Piggy Polish) that I like.
    I did the Whiskas stockpiling in June between buying some in stores on sale and using soon to expire coupons and having it shipped in from Amazon! But that should work in our favor (but that’s what I always say!)

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 3, 2011 at 1:23 pm

      Piggy polish!? I would but that just for the great name! That sounds like a lovely shade of polish.
      I loved your whiskas stockpiling story on your blog: hope sc kittie is still enjoying it all!

Leave a comment