Surprise, Wes!

Last evening, my friend Sarah hosted a surprise 30th birthday party for her husband, Wes.

As you know, Sarah and I became friends when we worked together at the store. But, I bet you didn’t know that I met Wes at least twelve years ago! I trained, for a brief time, with a local track club. And Wes was one of the star high-school athletes, at that time! [Sarah and Wes both attended college in the States on full athletic scholarships for running]. “Six degrees of separation” rules, yet again!

We could not have ordered more perfect party weather!

hot, sunny, light air - a perfect july saturday!

Before I tell you about the party, I have another story that is just too funny:

There’s a Nike Outlet store between Waterloo and Cambridge, where the party was held. So, I decided to leave a few minutes early and stop in to see if I could get my favourite Nike socks. (Yes, we sell tons of socks at the store, but there’s one specific style that I adore, and can no longer get). I was looking around and SURPRISE! Suddenly, there’s Sarah standing right before me!! Holy coincidence or what! What are the chances? Wes was in another part of the store, so we quick snapped a photo to capture the moment:

seriously - what are the chances!?!

Sarah was trying to keep Wes occupied with some shopping before party time. So, the first surprise of the day was on us! We played it really cool in front of Wes, and he never suspected a thing. Whew! (Oh, and I struck out on finding my socks!)

We had been instructed to park around the corner from Wes’ parents’ house so as not to raise his suspicions:

no parked cars, bare street, nothing funny going on!

Sarah had organized the decorations on Friday, and did a fabulous job!

the theme was green + blue...

"30th birthday" balloons + happy birthday banners abounded!

We were advised that Wes and Sarah would be arriving momentarily…

sarah's dad and wes' sister were on the lookout

…so we all scurried over to huddle behind the driveway gate:

we're ready!

the arrival took longer than expected!

SURPRISE, WES!

wes thought he was arriving to a family bbq with his parents...

..and his surprise was genuine!

good job, sarah! (sarah started planning this surprise in march!)

BBQ Time!

wes' dad is a professional chef, and cooked up a fine array of kebabs!

salads + side dishes aplenty!

and fun plates!

Cake Time!

wes is still a big telephone talker! can you believe sobey's (grocery store) recreated an edible photo?

yes! 30 candles!

I enjoyed myself immensely. Thanks so much for including me, Sarah! It was such fun to meet both your families, as well as your friends – everyone was very friendly and very welcoming. You managed to surprise Wes but good!

cheers!

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

So which hairband did I end up choosing, yesterday?…

This one!

the colours (orange lining!) and braided design are smashingly divine!

Thanks for all your guesses – Gina and Mom guessed correctly!

Of course, I wore the band to the party!

i have a feeling this is going to be THE 2011 summer 'do!

And look at the cool inspirational saying that was on the tag (which I removed before wearing, of course, haha!):

each design has a different expression - this one is very fitting!

Mom: need a stocking stuffer, hint hint??? [Mom collects gifties for our stockings year ’round]. 😉

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

Has anyone ever surprised you with a party? Gina TOTALLY shocked me with a wedding shower she planned and hosted…and Mom got me in high school with a birthday party. I fell for every misleading detail on both occasions, hook, line and sinker!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Johanna B  On July 11, 2011 at 11:55 am

    Great headband – looks really good with the color of your hair.
    Re: the socks – have you tried to find them online?
    No surprise parties in my past. Not big on surprises, too much OCD.
    Love the party photos – it was 120 degrees with the heat index here yesterday. UGH!!!!

  • Gina Unger  On July 10, 2011 at 11:39 pm

    Very entertaining story. Fun fun fun. 🙂 I remember the surprise wedding shower for you (of course!) and was glad you were surprised!

  • Lisa  On July 10, 2011 at 7:05 pm

    Surprise parties are great! Sounds and looks like a super fun day…and great that he was genuinely surprised!

    I’ve never been thrown a surprise party…we’re not really party kind of people (as far as being the center of attention)…but it would be kinda cool!

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 10, 2011 at 8:24 pm

      i still say being a guest is best (like at a wedding, too) – all the fun and no responsibility!

  • Jayme @ Runner-n-Spice  On July 10, 2011 at 5:20 pm

    Oh the party looks great!! I love surprise parties!! I’ve only been t a few, but I love the adrenaline / anticipation that’s involved 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 10, 2011 at 5:52 pm

      that’s so true! it’s high energy time for the person hosting, the guests…and the guest of honour at the surprise time! maybe you’ll get a surprise party thrown for you at your next “big” birthday?!

  • Holly @ The Runny Egg  On July 10, 2011 at 3:43 pm

    Thankfully I’ve never had a surprise party for me — I do not like surprises! I did throw a 30th surprise party for Jason last March — he claims he was surprised but I think I gave it away. Oh well, it was still fun!

    That cake is so cute! And it looks like they did a great job on the photo!

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 10, 2011 at 4:35 pm

      that’s neat that you threw a party for jason! it IS hard to pull off a surprise…sarah wasn’t sure it would all work out, either!

  • strivingcynic  On July 10, 2011 at 3:27 pm

    I’ve never been the “victim” at a surprise party…and I’m okay with it!
    The hairband is really cute!

  • Dorry  On July 10, 2011 at 11:36 am

    Looks like a fun party! My parents had a surprise party for me in 5th grade, and I sort of hated it! Haha, I’m not really one for surprises like that for myself, but I like being a part of it for someone else. 🙂 Love your headband choice!

Leave a comment