Scraggelly Spinach Be Gone!

On Thursday afternoon, before my evening shift, I received a rather cryptic text message from Paul, my manager at the store. He teasingly typed: “You’re going to be very excited when you see what we got in today!

OOOOO!!! Now, I really couldn’t wait to get into work! I fairly hopped across the parking lot, over to the store.

Paul knows me too well. Yes, I squealed *just a little bit* when I saw these:

head bands!!!

I ♥ hair accessories (just not hats!): clips, bands, barrettes, scrunchies, elastics – I’ve gone through phases of extensive usage of all of these, ever since childhood:

my (favourite) standard piggie-tales, ages 3-5...

Anyway, we received SIX styles of the Sweaty Bands (wonder if they need a Waterloo ambassador?!):

#1

#2

#3

#4

#5

and #6!

I’m completely infatuated!! If I could, I’d buy one of each design. Alas, ce n’est pas possible, so I’m going to choose one. Here’s what’s fun: remember the $10.11 I have left on my Adidas gift card? Well, if I add just a little more $, I’m going home with a cute head band today! Ok, guessing game time: which pattern do you think I’ll choose (there’s one that is screaming out to me, even more than the others). And: which one would you choose for yourself?! I’ll show you the winner, tomorrow!

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

Sticking with the hair theme, here’s me yesterday morning:

at work...

Here’s me yesterday evening!

...at home!

I realllly hate getting my haircut. Partly, it has to do with my Samson-esque view of growing out your hair. Partly, it’s due to the fact of not really caring about my hair. When I got my bangs, back in April, we talked hairstyles, so we won’t go in-depth into that again today. But, I’m glad I got the dry ends chopped off (that’s the “scraggelly spinach” reference in today’s title, the term Mom and I for feeling unkempt), and the shorter length will be cooler for the summer months. Calling it now: this is very likely the final hair salon visit for 2011! [I’m thinking I may go back to longer hair, no bangs, again, too]. This is going to be the Summer of the Headband, I do believe!

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

Guess what? The 1970 Kiki Project is six months old today! [Good Golly, that means I’m now on the downward slope to another birthday!].

It’s pretty cool that 21/41 New Experiences have been completed – I wouldn’t have anticipated getting that close to the 50% mark at the turn-around point of The Project.

Originally, my intention was to do a deeper analysis of the Kiki Project thus far, and also to review my 11 for ’11 goals. But you know what? I don’t feel like it! To do that, I would have had to spend considerable time last eve prepping today’s blog post. And last eve, I just wanted to

R E L A X

So I did! I enjoyed some rooftop time, a x-word puzzle, the sunshine, cool breeze and deep breaths. In regards to the 2011 goals, let’s say things are looking promising, for the most part! Happily, there’s still six months to go!

Have a Super Saturday!

Quick: what’s one goal you made back on January 1st? Have you kept it?! I’m still getting up at 5 a.m.!!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Dorry  On July 10, 2011 at 11:14 am

    I think you’re going to pick #5 or #6!

  • Lisa  On July 9, 2011 at 6:35 pm

    I’m going to guess the zebra print. I don’t know why—it’s not like I think you’re much into animal prints…but that one sticks out at me!

    Wow–6 months in. Time flies, doesn’t it? I wish I had been more specific about goal-setting this year. I’m feeling a bit scatterbrained…maybe I’ll do better in the second half of the year!

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 9, 2011 at 9:01 pm

      lisa, i always say labour day is the REAL new year’s, so you can always set goals then… animal prints are good in small doses, like head bands…women who dress ENTIRELY in them?? not so awesome! 🙂

  • Zo  On July 9, 2011 at 11:46 am

    I’m gonna say 6 for you. I like 2 the most although zebra is always cool. Good for you on your pursuit of relaxation. I’ve done well with my read more books goal. Last year I only read 17. I think I’m on 16 or 17 now….so unless I really drop the ball…

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 9, 2011 at 12:03 pm

      Good job on the reading, zo! Any more stephanie plums in there?! How many books can you finish this summer? Oops! That’s a goal! Enjoy your relaxation time!

  • Holly @ The Runny Egg  On July 9, 2011 at 9:54 am

    I’m glad you chose to relax — there are quite a few posts I’d like to write but I just don’t want to put in a ton of time! I tell myself that it is not a priority right now — maybe it will be in the future, but I have enough to do already. And I’m sure you do too!

    I’m growing out my bangs too — I liked them for a while, but now I’m sick of them!

    One goal from this year — I ran my marathon! I’m happy about that.

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 9, 2011 at 9:59 am

      yes: content-heavy posts take time! i remember your financial series, esp – that would have taken ages to co-ordinate. winter is a better time for spending more time on blogging! you ROCKED that marathon goal, holly! 🙂

  • Gina Unger  On July 9, 2011 at 8:52 am

    My guess for your headband choice: #5 (it’s got orange!)
    I’m glad you chose to relax instead of spending time analyzing your goals – good for you! 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On July 9, 2011 at 10:00 am

      thanks, g! plus now, i won’t overthink my goals (i know you understand that!)

Leave a comment