mom gets a new experience!

originally, mom and i had made plans to go to the pottery sale up at RIM park for our november outing of the month. we’ve been to the spring sale twice (2010 recap here, 2011 recap here) but never to the fall sale. the spring one is easier for us to get to because it’s just a five minute walk away, up at the rec centre, but we were really looking forward to checking out the fall sale to compare and contrast the two venues and seasons of the year (more christmas-themed items this weekend, perhaps?).

that plan was made before we knew that lululemon had arrived in town!

we pretty much simultaneously dropped the pottery plan like a hot potato. friday eve, we would go explore the new lulu location!

i make it a priority to hit up lululemon whenever i’m in toronto. my favourite location is the queen street west store, although i’ve also been to the eaton centre and sherway gardens locations.

mom, on the other hand, has never set foot in a lululemon. quelle horreur!

we kept our date time of friday eve, 6:30 p.m. i think this was our first late night evening shopping outing [neither mom nor i are night hawks and with this time change, anything after 5 p.m. is *night* – although i have noticed improvement since i started working more night shifts!].

see, it was black out. definitely *night*.

mom dressed perfectly for the occasion!

that is a genuine lulu hoodie

see, that hoodie used to be mine, but it never fit right, so i gave it to mom a couple years back and she now lives in it she has gotten good wear out of it! i told her she had to wear it for our outing.

the requisite self-portrait!

no lulu gear on me - it's too cold for a jog bra and shorts!!

two seconds – ok, ten seconds – later, we were at lulu! because it’s freakin’ across the street from our condo buildings!!!

mom outside the shop - it's a temp location so there is no proper signage

we staged a dramatic photo opp to capture mom’s foray into lulu-land:

mom is a good sport, too!

now, to be honest, the waterloo location is a little bare bones, at this time. it’s lacking the ambiance of the queen west store. but there are a couple of lulu-y touches. for example:

representing that om vibe...

nice visual displays...

working in tandem with moksha yoga! cool! -> note to self about class times!

we timed our visit perfectly! the store was nearly empty:

never EVER would you see ANY toronto location with this few customers!

we received excellent customer service – friendly yet not overbearing. mom and i tried on some bottoms: pants (mom) capris and shorts (me):

i LOVED these 3/4 tights - note the adorable ruffle on the side!

we floated around the store, admiring the product:

love the print on that bag!

fun water bottles!

and, as always, we yakked non-stop.

now, my goal was for mom and i to visit twelve different locations for our outings of the month. in order to not mess up the plan, we were very strict and walked into the mall -> walked into lululemon -> walked out of the mall. we visited no other stores (because we’ve already done a waterloo square outing) thus qualifying friday eve’s shopping trip as a different experience.

mom liked lululemon! but she did say that to be honest, she prefers the fit and feel of her fitness wear from the store. ah, what a loyal mom have i!

i did explain to mom that there seem are two camps regarding lululemon wear: you either love it and live in it (i ♥ my items although i don’t have that many) or you think it’s overpriced and chichi and boycott it. to each their own! all i know is i am glad we have this lulu store in town, even if it is only temporary until the end of january. i shall return – and i bet mom will, too!

what are your favourite brands of fitness wear? i have never been disappointed in nike, adidas or lululemon brands!

~*~*~*~*~

november thankfulness:

(for saturday november 19): yesterday i was thankful for a healthy computer mouse. all of a sudden, no warning, my wireless mouse crapped out on me friday morning. you know i am not at all a techie. i played around, couldn’t fix it (not dead batteries as i just changed them two weeks ago), had to leave it to go to work. i called neutron computers, and the always wonderful terry-the-techie gave me a couple suggestions. i tried them when i got back home. the mouse was still dead. mom and i went out for our outing, and after getting home, i persevered with any ideas i could think of, and – finally! – after shutting down my laptop and rebooting, deactivating and reinstalling the mouse a few times – victory! the mouse came back to life! what a sense of accomplishment [bad, bad mousie and please don’t fake-die on me again].

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Kelly @ Foodie Fiasco  On November 21, 2011 at 3:07 am

    I love how you spend quality time with your mother. I know I love spending quality time with mine. 😉 I’ve never tried lululemon, but I’ve heard great things about it!

    • 1970kikiproject  On November 21, 2011 at 5:39 am

      oh, i’m glad to hear you and your mom hang out together, too, kelly! it’s awesome to have a mom who is also a friend. shopping is one of our favourite things to do!

  • Dorry  On November 20, 2011 at 8:49 pm

    You know I love that y’all had this experience! 🙂 Fun for me to see the product in the pictures since I’m familiar with all of it. lululemon is pricey, but it fits so well and last for so long! definitely my favorite, but of course I’m biased. 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On November 20, 2011 at 9:00 pm

      oh, hooray!! i was hoping you’d catch this post, dorry!! i even told mom about how you work at lululemon in dallas, while we were out shopping. this store set-up is atypical of the other locations i’ve been in – this one definitely looks temporary. but the goods are the same and i will not complain one bit!

  • Stephanie  On November 20, 2011 at 6:13 pm

    I’ve never set foot in Lulu Lemon. I think it’s overpriced…but I’ve never worn one, so I’m actually uninformed. That said, I was really surprised that their brand didn’t take more of a beating over the fake seaweed scam! (It was seaweed, right?) I love that your mom posed for photos for the blogs. Tell her your readers think she’s awesome.

    • 1970kikiproject  On November 20, 2011 at 6:28 pm

      haha – thanks, stephanie! mom reads the comments but i will make sure she takes a look at yours! well, check out lulu for yourself, if you ever get the chance. fake seaweed?? i will have to google that – that is news to me!…

  • Gina Unger  On November 20, 2011 at 4:34 pm

    ah, Cath, i know we are great friends b/c i can read this blog and smile away even though i stand firmly in the “other camp” as you call it – the one who thinks lulu is overpriced and will boycott it! yep. ALL my friends here in wpg try to drag me into the store and persuade me about how it is the greatest fitness wear ever, but i will not be swayed. i keep looking at those price tags and saying to myself: i LOVE my fitness wear and i didn’t pay half that much money! so… i know the clothes are awesome. the prices not so much.
    glad your mouse came back to life! technology can really suck sometimes!

    • 1970kikiproject  On November 20, 2011 at 4:38 pm

      …and i totally respect your lulu stance! 🙂 to each their own. and you, you lucky duck, have access to the great deals on fitness wear at COSTCO!!! a guy at the store the other day had on this awesome retro-style adidas jacket – i asked where he got it? COSTCO! well, stand your ground on lulu (although it does last sooo long and washes sooo well, i must repeat!)

  • The Orchard  On November 20, 2011 at 11:39 am

    I do think lululemon is very expensive and I only have 1 item, but I wear it ALL the time. It is the black, zip-up stretchy jacket that most people seem to have. I love mine! I think their products are great, but expensive.

    I also like Nike, too!

    I can’t wait to check out the store soon.

    • 1970kikiproject  On November 20, 2011 at 11:43 am

      well, at least when you get tons of wear out of an item, you can justify spending more money – that’s how i look at it! let me know if you get in to check out the new location in the mall – and which items you like! yes! come on in, tricia – would be fun to see you! 🙂 we’re fully stocked with winter stuff!

  • Zo  On November 20, 2011 at 7:40 am

    I haven’t actually tried that many fitness brands (and yes, the $$$ at lululemon intimidates me, but i know people love their stuff). I’ve bought a lot of Champion workout clothes at Target and they’ve been fine for me. For shoes, I usually end up with Saucony.
    I love your mom’s photo opp!

    • 1970kikiproject  On November 20, 2011 at 7:53 am

      ahhhh, i envy you your option to go to target!! 2013, that is the “target date” (punny!) for target’s arrival in waterloo. champion IS a solid brand. mom could have been a professional actor, seriously, and she was kind enough to let me “direct” her grand entrance into lulu!

Leave a comment