Daily Archives: April 12, 2011

Bogged Down By Books

Although I love reading, I only have time make time for it right before bed. My usual routine is to curl up with my book and read until I feel sleepy. On a good night, I’ll get in 10-15 pages; usually I manage 3-5 pages before my eyelids start drooping, and that’s the end of that. So yes, completing a novel is a long and slow process.

I love when I am in the midst of a really gripping book, though, and totally look forward to going to bed just so I can read. When I was reading Wally Lamb’s The Hour I First Believed, back in the winter, I’d get totally excited about bedtime because I couldn’t wait to continue the story!

Right now, I am in a reading slump. Here’s the situation:

1) Looking to incorporate some meditation and personal reflection time to my night routine, I started reading the Book of Proverbs, following the suggestion from Dear Dad. I cover one chapter a night before I get to my novel. Reading an entire book of the Bible, chapter by chapter, would be a New Experience! That’s not my only motivation, though. 🙂 I’m now on Chapter 12. To be honest, I’m finding it slow-going. I’m going to stick with it, though, and hopefully Solomon’s writing will start to resonate with me very shortly.

i think part of the problem is the "revised standard version" i am reading (i've had this Bible since my early teens) - the language is rather formal

2) I started reading “Are You There Vodka? It’s Me, Chelsea” in Aruba. That was over a month ago. I am on page 129, as of last night. Sadly, this memoir by Chelsea Handler is not as funny as I had anticipated. She’s crude and rude, and the stories she shares are kind of sad, more than funny. I keep hoping that the next chapter/anecdote will be funnier…so far that’s not the case.

going to keep on chugging til i finish with poor chelsea...

3) I started this book BEFORE I went to Aruba!…

i LOVED "the corrections," also by janathan franzen, from a few years ago

I made it to page 197 before I left on the trip (out of 562 pages) and have not picked it up since. I’ve lost all momentum for this one. You know, I think I am going to have to close the book, and start again at page one. I had such high hopes for this novel!!! [I know I mentioned excited anticipation for it at least once in a post, way back in January or February…won’t bother to search for that right now…] I really, really want to love it! So if I restart, maybe I can get into a flow. What I should do is get to bed 15-30 minutes earlier each night so that I have more reading time…good in theory, but I’m likely to just fall asleep earlier!

Once I get finished with Chelsea and Freedom, I’m love to tackle:

Irma Voth by Miriam Toews (here‘s the Globe and Mail review; I loved A Complicated Kindness, was luke-warm about The Flying Troutmans)

Irma Voth, by Miriam Toews, Knopf Canada, 255 pages, $29.95

Most likely, I will put this novel on my Christmas list – think I can finish my current reads by December?!

What are you reading right now? Enjoyable or a slog? Usually, I follow the 50 page rule: if a book does not grab me within the first 50 pages, I cast it aside. Since both Chelsea and Freedom were gifts, I really want to finish them!

*#*#*#*#*

Before:

And After!

Yup, yesterday it was time for my annual-ish hair cut! To be frank, I take no little interest in hairstyle. But the spring weather inspired me to get the mop cleaned up. AND, I got the vibe to try some little bangs again! Small change, but still a bit of an update. So far, I really like them!

How often do you get your hair cut/coloured/styled? Is hair care important to you?

*#*#*#*#*

Remember last Tuesday when I went out for a bloggie lunch date with Odette and Angela?

me, angela and odette at thrive juice bar

Well, Angela is celebrating her one year Bloggiversary with a Giveaway Contest! Click here if you’d like to enter the contest! She’s offering a cool assortment of treats to the lucky winner!