Daily Archives: April 24, 2011

Easter Lists

Happy Easter, friends!

(source)

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

Five Favourite Easter Childhood Memories:

(other than decorating Easter eggs and feasting on Paska)

1. Easter Sunday morning, The Brother and I would search for our Easter Bunny treats. The “Easter Bunny” would hide about 5-7 goodies around the living room and dining room areas in our home. I remember for sure receiving tiny chocolate eggs, a regular-sized chocolate bunny, then some non-sugary items like crayons, a dot-to-dot activity book, small Lego kit, etc. While we loved the thrill of the search, neither The Brother nor I were particularly gifted in hunting. More often than not, a game of “warmer/colder” would be needed so that we could locate all our treasures!

2. Mom reminded me that she used to make hot-cross buns, in addition to Paska. I definitely preferred Paska; the only *good* part of the buns was the icing cross on the top! (Never been a fan of raisins, currants, dried fruit).

(source)

3. In the olden-days, many women welcomed Easter with the purchase of an Easter bonnet.

(source)

In a 1970’s version of this tradition, Mom and I always had a new dress to wear to church on Easter Sunday.

me, spring 1973 (3 years old)

4. I’ve always loved the traditional Easter hymns (may I dare say I love them more than Christmas Carols?!) we sang in church on Easter Sunday morning. My fondest memory is of my Grandpa C confidently and triumphantly booming out the refrain “Up from the grave he arose!” in his deep bass voice when we sang my absolute favourite Easter hymn, “Lo, In the Grave He Lay.” Hearing that song still brings a lump to my throat, it’s so powerful an anthem.

5. Many people welcome Easter Sunday with a sunrise church service. That’s never been a tradition in either our family or in our church. And I’m not disappointed to have missed this Christian tradition in my lifetime – rare is the Easter Sunday in Southern Ontario where you would want to be outdoors at dawn!

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

Five Cute Easter Desserts, Found Online:

1. Monica’s Easter Bunny Cake:

Easter Bunny Cake

2. Angela’s Spring Chick Cupcakes:

IMG_4488

3. Martha Stewart’s Easter Egg Puzzle Cookies (because what is a themed-holiday without Martha’s influence?!):

4. Jenna’s Hot Cross Cookies:

5. Gina’s Paska and Paska Cheese Spread

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

Five Feel-Good Easter(ish) Stories:

1. The Resurrection of Jesus (the traditional Bible story)

(source)

2. Bella and the Bunny

Bella and the Bunny

3. Guess How Much I Love You

Guess How Much I Love You: Little Library

4. The Runaway Bunny

Runaway Bunny

5. Where Are Baby’s Easter Eggs?

Where Are Baby's Easter Eggs?

◊ ◊ ◊ ◊ ◊

Two Random Unrelated-to-Easter Facts:

~ This post is #300 for the blog! I will host a giveaway when we get to #500! 🙂

~ Eight months today is Christmas Eve! I have purchased and stashed away ONE gift, and have started to mentally compose my Christmas List. 🙂