Daily Archives: April 14, 2011

The Same, Yet Not

Tuesday, I had the day off work. Since I was all caught up on housework, errands, and just wasn’t feeling the urge to embark on spring cleaning tasks, I spent a lot of time blogging and knitting (these would be two of my favourite things).

For the blogging portion of the day, I sat for a while in the Huether Cafe.

It was quiet, and I could perch in the big front window, spread out my laptop and mouse (dislike doing lots of computer work without using my mouse), drink coffee, and peoplewatch. Doesn’t get much more enjoyable than that.

When I returned home to my knitting, I propped open the glass sliding doors in the Condo Casa and let the sunlight stream in, and the fresh breeze clear out some of the winter cobwebs – both in my head, and in the living room corners – haha!

Yesterday, I again had the day off. Seeing as Wednesday = Aunti Goes to Toronto Day, and being that I had no appointments scheduled in the morning, I hightailed it down the 401 relatively early in the morning, and passed a lovely day in Ontario’s Capital City.

(source)

Unfortunately, Tuesday’s sunshine turned into Wednesday’s rainshowers:

a good day to break out the (almost) duck-feet!

Once again, knitting and blogging were the themes of the day.

After arriving in TO, I worked on A’s sweater. Second sleeve = finito! I’m like a horse with blinders on, now, in regards to this project!

(source)

Around noon, I ventured to The Purple Purl. I’ve been approached about doing another commissioned knitting project, so I went to my favourite Toronto yarn shop to research wool.

now this is my idea of being like "a kid in a candy store!"

The afternoon was the perfect opportunity to visit the Dark Horse coffee shop – I’ve been dying to set up shop at their communal wooden table for years!

sharing a common (gorgeous wood) table adds a real sense of community to the coffee shop experience!

Of course, I had a coffee. Can’t absorb the atmosphere and not order something!

mmmm.....large decaf americano (brought my own stevia!)

Unfortunately, I could not connect to a network, despite repeated attempts PLUS three re-boots of my laptop, so I did not last long. Too bad – I really like the indy atmosphere in there:

i think they rotate the art on a frequent basis, and feature local artists

All in all, a very fine day. And the icing on the cake? Time spent with Little E and Baby C!

How do you like to spend a rainy day off?

*#*#*#*#*

Remember last week when I found a copy of the Oprah magazine in the Recycling Room?

i'd love to set up a more formal magazine lending library in our building! save trees and save $ - share!

I’ve finished paging through it. It was an OK read. I DO like Oprah, and I DO like the variety of topics covered in each issue of her magazine.

One pet peeve to comment on (note, this PP is not unique to this magazine – lots of other ‘zines grab our attention this way, too):

when i see a headline on the front cover, i expect in-depth coverage inside...

entire length of the feature? ONE PAGE!!! this is it!

And no blasts of brilliance on how to save your money, either. The four main points?

~ Go international

~ Look for in-season produce

~ Eat meatless or meat-light

~ Make your own (ex: salad dressing)

Nothing we haven’t seen before.

I don’t mind short ‘n’ sweet articles; just don’t make them out to be more than they are, by highlighting them on the front cover.

What’s one of your magazine pet peeves? Photoshopping and airbrushing also turn me off!