New Experience #14: Decorate a Dozen Easter Eggs Myself!

Searching for Easter Bunny treats was my favourite part of Easter when I was little. (Yes, I was raised in a Christian home, but when you’re eight years old, the joy of Jesus’ resurrection does not compete with the excitment of going on a hunt for mini chocolate eggs and pink hair accessories – just being honest with you).

My SECOND favourite part of Easter was our family tradition of dying Easter eggs. This process would take place annually on Good Friday. (Then Saturday was always Paska baking day – more on that tomorrow).

For dying our Easter eggs, Dad, Mom, The Brother and I would each get 3, 4 or 6 eggs to creatively colour.

Sometimes during the hard-boiling, an egg would crack. If that was the case, Mom got stuck with having the defective egg as part of her collection. That’s just the way it was.

I always crackled with anticipation over how to decorate my eggs: no plain, one-colour jobs, for me! (That was Mom’s way of doing eggs – she said she had to balance out our craziness brightness with solids).

My area of specialty was using Rubber Cement glue. I’d dye my egg, drizzle the glue around it, plop it back in another colour and let it soak. When you took out the egg, and rubbed off the glue, you’d be left with a two-toned psychedelic masterpiece!

The Brother’s gift was drawing on the eggs. His best invention, to this day, is the year he crafted the Van Halen symbol onto the egg’s surface.

(source)

Unmatchable. We still laugh to this day over that one.

This year, I have misplaced my Easter decorations, which is very unlike me. 

I have no clue where my little eggie tree, fake nest and multitude of cute bunnies have disappeared to. So, to brighten and spring-ify the still winterlike Condo Casa, I decided to resurrect the Egg Dying Tradition of Yore. In order to make this a New Experience, I settled upon dying an even dozen eggs. Never have I had so many all to myself!

Last night was Preparation Time:

I bought a dozen of the cheapest eggs I could find, since these are going to sit out for a week as decoration, and will not be consumed. A $2 investment for this year’s Easter decor? Fine by me!

Boil, boil, toil and trouble! Luckily, zero eggs cracked!

Same brand of dye we used in the ’70s…but now you get added extras!…

This morning, I mixed up my dyes:

Despite the passage of time, I still remembered some of my favourite tricks!

For my 12th egg, I created the Swamp Water Mix – you just dump all the dyes together, and douse the egg! (Another tradition The Brother and I revelled in!).

To finish, I rubbed the eggs with oil. This was always a Dad task. It just shines up the eggs to make them Display Worthy:

Care to see the finished products?

Four plain eggs (in honour of Mom) to act as balancing agents:

Oops! One casualty…we’ll just hide that side…

Four pastel-hued eggs, each of which received turnings and dunkings, by hand:

Three stickered eggs. I love stickers. Usually I use Little E and Baby C as my excuses to play with stickers. I justify my sticker-usage today by saying that the stickers were included with the dyes, so it’s only proper that I use them!

One with a strip of Easter eggs, one with flowers ‘n’ butterflies…

And just for The Brother, a Funny/Sporty Egg (why basketballs, firetrucks and shooting rockets for Easter?!):

Here’s the Swamp Water Egg!

My favourite today? This one (the white stripe down the middle happened accidentally – love it!):

And the final collection:

Now my dining room table looks Easter-y!

Happy Earth Day, by the way!

Are you dying Easter eggs this year?

Are you celebrating Earth Day today?

Tomorrow we talk Easter Bread!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Dorry  On April 22, 2011 at 10:13 pm

    Your eggs are fabulous! I haven’t dyed eggs in years, but I think that might be on the agenda with my nieces this weekend. I love Easter, and I’m really looking forward to spending time with family. 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 23, 2011 at 5:18 am

      thanks, dorry! i do hope you get the opportunity to decorate some eggs with the girls…if not, there’s always another year! glad you have family time on the easter weekend agenda – enjoy!

  • Lisa  On April 22, 2011 at 8:46 pm

    Beautiful! Looks like a fun project 🙂

    I did not color eggs this year…but I wish I did now!

    For earth day, I didn’t do anything because I was too busy…but I’m going to plant my indoor garden (which is just a bunch of microgreens) tomorrow!

    Have great night…looking forward to tomorrow’s post—I have no idea what Paska is!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 22, 2011 at 8:54 pm

      thanks, lisa! i hope you were busy with social activities and/or time with matthew today! can’t wait to hear about your garden (i assume you will tell us about it?!) the paska was fantastic…and that is all i will say for now! 🙂

  • janetha  On April 22, 2011 at 6:46 pm

    your eggs are so cute! i love decorating them.. we aren’t this year, but i may just have to by myself 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 22, 2011 at 7:30 pm

      thanks, j! oh, too bad you can’t get together with some of your family for an egg party! i vote you DO go for it yourself! 🙂

  • Gina Unger  On April 22, 2011 at 3:39 pm

    What fun to do all 12 eggs yourself! i think i’m going to be sharing most, if not ALL, of the ones we just boiled up today. I’ve never heard of the oil part – neat. will have to try that! we’re colouring our eggs later today, paska baking was yesterday and our annual egg hunt is sunday. the kids are super excited about it all! 🙂 i heard about the starbux free coffee thing at church this morning and thought of you!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 22, 2011 at 4:06 pm

      …and i’m not even going to make it to s’bux for my coffee, after all! my travel mug is at the store, boo hoo…so i’m going to mix up an instant VIA right now and drink it at home, here! yippee for all the easter activities! glad you all are doing eggs, making paska, too! i bet the kids will be super excited sunday morn for the egg hunt! hopefully you’ll blog about it! 🙂

  • Holly @ The Runny Egg  On April 22, 2011 at 3:10 pm

    Cathy these look great! And yes, my mom always got the cracked ones too!

    I never heard that “rub with oil” trick, but it makes sense!

    I’m not sure if we’re doing any eye dying this year to be honest!

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 22, 2011 at 4:04 pm

      thanks, holly! oh, the poor moms with the cracked eggs… the sacrifices they made, eh! (i’d do the same with the nieces, though, and i’m sure you would, too!)

  • Nicole  On April 22, 2011 at 1:08 pm

    Thanks! Someone told me about using vinegar to get vivid colours and it worked.
    P.S. As for Earth Day, did you know that Starbucks is giving free coffee today if you bring in your reusable mug?? We’re heading out there later today! 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 22, 2011 at 1:31 pm

      i used vinegar this a.m., too! your colours just seem to “pop” more! yea to starbucks! thanks for the reminder! too bad we did not live closer, and could MEET at s’bux for coffee! 🙂

  • Nicole  On April 22, 2011 at 12:56 pm

    oooh… Good job. I’ll have to try the multi-coloured technique this year. We dyed eggs last weekend. I never did this as a kid and was always envious of those who did. Here’s Carys taking stab at our new tradition:
    http://schnauzergirl.blogspot.com/2011/04/coloured-eggs.html

    • 1970kikiproject  On April 22, 2011 at 1:02 pm

      oh, thanks so much for sharing your Decorating Party, Nicole! And how did I not know you had a blog!?! Carys looks like she’s having a blast! I love the brilliant shades of your eggs! Happy Easter Weekend!

Leave a comment