Daily Archives: March 25, 2011

Too-Da-Loo, Runner’s World

Yesterday, a question popped into my head:

Why am I subscribing to Runner’s World magazine?”

My answer? Because I always have.

(source)

That response seemed a little lacking in sound reasoning, so I devoted some more brain time to pursuing this train of thought.

Upon reflection, I realized that I have subscribed continuously to this Runner’s Bible for at least 15, if not 20 years. I started running in 1989, and I’m pretty sure I started getting the magazine via home delivery shortly thereafter – likely soon after I got my first pair of shoes!

To cut to the chase, today I went to the RW website and cancelled my subscription. It was the logical decision to make, and to be honest, it makes total sense! Here’s why:

~ we sell Runner’s World at the store. So, I have access to the publication for free, and can read it during any quiet times while on shift (as long as I make sure not to slop peanut butter or spill coffee on it – haha!). Sure, our store copies arrive about one week later than my personal copy is delivered by mail, but since there is no time-sensitive news involved, I think I can bear it.

~ as much as I hate to admit it, I am spending less and less time reading hard copies of the newspaper and magazines, and more and more time scanning online versions of the same publications. For years, I was a newspaper junkie; over the past while, I’ve weaned myself off of my reading routines (yes, used to knit and read the newspaper and drink Diet Coke!), and have turned to reading on my computer instead. And, I’ve noticed that the RW website carries virtually all of the same stories and features that appear in the paper magazine.

~ not to sound overconfident, but after 20+ years running, and given my occupation, I feel experienced enough that I could author some of the articles…Do I really need to read up on how to dress for cold weather? Or the best hamstring stretches? Yea, I still read these types of articles, but I learn very few new ideas.

Cramping Out(source)

~ to my mind, RW recycles articles every 2-3 years. The main tips in “The Twenty Best Superfoods For Runners” will next appear as “Healthy Staples For Your Kitchen.” “Beat the Winter Blues” is not much different than “How to Stay Motivated in the Off-Season.”

The Best Foods For Runners

(source)

~ this will sound just plain snarky: I really dislike the current editor-in-chief, David Willey. I’m sure he’s a very nice guy in real life. His editorials just irk me, though. Yes, this is a small quibble to whine about, but reading his openings makes me petulant. This aversion cannot be further explained, sorry.

So there you have it. Maybe I can just feel all virtuous about saving the planet, one less paper product in my home, blah blah. Which reminds me…Runner’s World is about due for another “How to be a Green Runner” article. May 2011 issue, I bet.

Do you subscribe to any magazines? Would you consider giving them up?