The Cookies Are Already Gone!

Can you believe the batch of choco chip cookies I wrote about on Wednesday is gonzo?! This could very well be a new record.

And Erv

dad!

didn’t even get one!

Recipe #6 for the Unofficial 1970 Kiki Project revolved around these chips:

president's choice CHUNKS - new to me!

…and chunky monkeys these are! – – >

it looks like one chunk would equal about 5 regular chips!

Since the star attraction is the CHUNKS, I decided to just flip over the bag, and make the PC-provided recipe. Besides, aren’t the back-of-the-package recipes always the blue-ribbon winners?!

(source)

Here’s the recipe – it is quick and it is easy – – two of my favourite things!

…but best of all, this cookie dough ROCKS!! The batter baked up wonderfully – each cookie is a pillow of chocolatey-chunkiness.

(source)

PC Chocolate Chunk Cookies

Cream 1/2 cup softened butter [I did use a butter stick] with 3/4 cup packed brown sugar. Beat in 1 egg and 1 tsp vanilla. Gently stir in 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour and 1/2 tsp baking soda. Stir in one package PC The Decadent Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chunks. Drop by heaping 1 tbsp amounts onto ungreased cookie sheets [I lined my sheets with parchment paper], spacing two inches apart. Bake one sheet at a time at 350 degrees for 9-11 minutes [I needed 10 minutes per sheet]. Cool on cookie sheet for 2 minutes. Makes about 32 large cookies. [Hunh??! I got 18 NOT-large cookies!].

no sifting, no adding in increments; i mixed the wet ingredients, dumped on the dry, threw on the chunks, mixed by hand - that's the way i like to bake!

cookie clouds!

Only 18, though? Maybe I better set two aside for Erv

aka the yahtzee king!

asap!!

*#*#*#*#*

DUUUUUUUUUUKE!!!!

Are you into March Madness?!

I’ve loved Duke since the Christian Laettner era of the early ’90s.

(source)

Now go make cookies! Just do it!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Dorry  On March 21, 2011 at 10:30 pm

    I love your cookie clouds! And think chunks are the way to go. Much more chocolaty goodness in each bite. I’m not really into March Madness – I was in college, but Billy still like its! He ha a bracket and everything. 🙂

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 22, 2011 at 5:14 am

      that’s what i’m regretting now! i SHOULD have entered some sort of pool…being in a contest makes the games even that much more exciting! hope billy’s team does well…unless they’re playing DUKE!!! haha!

  • Johanna  On March 21, 2011 at 8:46 pm

    Well, I’ll be the first to admit that I didn’t even KNOW what March Madness is until I was reading your comments!

    Those cookies look amazing! Holy serious chocolate, Batman! The trouble is always that I can’t stop at just one!

    Can’t wait to see you tomorrow! 🙂
    (at which point I’ll try not to speak entirely in exclamation points!!!!!)

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 21, 2011 at 8:51 pm

      i’m so excited, too!!!! i have a feeling we are going to have quite the hyperactive visit! um, never fear re the usage of exclamation points!! as you can tell from my emails and the blog, i am a! huge! fan!! at least i recognize i have a problem! 🙂

  • Zo  On March 21, 2011 at 6:32 pm

    Oh…those chips/chunks look insaaaaaaaaaaaaaane! I still think the portion disparities are hilarious!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 21, 2011 at 6:41 pm

      they’re serious chunks, i do tell ya! yea – who do these cookbook authors get their portion sizes from – tom thumb?? and i was quite moderate in my cookie sizing last eve – what if i had done my typical 1/4 cup sizing?? hello, five cookies, maybe?!!

  • Holly  On March 21, 2011 at 4:01 pm

    I have to laugh about the Christian Laettner thing — he played for the MN Timberwolves! I would go to those games with my dad every once in a while.

    Those cookies look so good — choc chunks was a good choice!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 21, 2011 at 4:09 pm

      funny, i never followed CL’s pro career! i just was a fan when he was with duke! too cool that you saw him play live!!

  • Lisa @ Thrive Style  On March 21, 2011 at 3:58 pm

    I’m not into March Madness at all. I tried once, but I just can’t get myself to pay attention. The cookies look great—cookie dough is no match for me! I often eat more of that than the cookies 🙂

    Hope your two saved ones made it to their intended recipient!

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 21, 2011 at 4:02 pm

      i wish i had entered a basketball pool this year! this ncaa tourney is way exciting ~ but i can see if it’s not your thing! yes – i just dropped two cookies off at dad’s door (my parents live in the building next door)! since i didn’t like the “splat batch,” it’s better that i can share these!

  • Johanna B  On March 21, 2011 at 2:28 pm

    March Madness is happenin’ in Kansas. KU (go Jayhawks) are playing in the Sweet Sixteen so everyone around here is excited. My daughter went there so I’m a big fan and they do have a super b ball team.

    • 1970kikiproject  On March 21, 2011 at 2:38 pm

      all right, johanna! go, jayhawks! glad the team is looking strong!! fingers crossed…unless it comes down to duke vs kansas, at some point!

Leave a comment